

CHARLIE CRIST GOVERNOR HOLLY BENSON SECRETARY

## **RSV SEASON BY REGION**

The Regions referred to are identified by counties, as presented by DOH data. The region divisions are as follows:

North – Madison, Taylor, Hamilton, Suwannee, Lafayette, Dixie, Levy, Gilchrist, Columbia, Alachua, Putnam, Clay, St. Johns, Duval, Nassau, Baker

Northwest – Escambia, Santa Rosa, Okaloosa, Walton, Holmes, Jackson, Bay, Calhoun, Gulf, Franklin, Liberty, Gadsden, Leon, Wakulla, and Jefferson

Central - Marion, Citrus, Hernando, Pasco, Pinellas, Hillsborough, Sumter, Lake, Orange, Osceola, Brevard, Volusia, Flagler

Southwest - Collier, Hendry, Lee, Glades, Charlotte, Highlands, DeSoto, Okeechobee, Hardee, Polk, Manatee, Sarasota

Southeast - Indian River, St. Lucie, Martin, Palm Beach, Broward, Dade, Monroe

Based on surveillance epidemiologic data from the Department of Health (DOH) and the recommendation summaries from the last meeting (April 18, 2008) of the RSV Epidemiology Workgroup, the proposed seasons are as indicated:

	NORTH	NW	CENTRAL	SW	SE
PROPOSED SEASONS (Pharm. Services)	Sept. – Mar. (7 mths)	Oct. – April (7 mths)	Aug. – Mar. (8 mths)	Sept April (8 mths)	12 mths

An open communication will be maintained with DOH to consistently evaluate real-time data as the months progress. It is proposed that the Southwest season remain as suggested and be revisited next year as new data is presented.

Based on the existing proposal, the Southeast is the only region that would require an extension. In view of the limited time frame, this process can be handled by having the fiscal agent set up automatic extensions for the months of May 1, 2008 to September 30, 2008 for beneficiaries based upon their zip codes. The most immediate extension will apply only to beneficiaries who are currently less than or equal to one year old. For those beneficiaries aged 13 to 23 months, compliance between the months of October 2007 and April 2008 will be reviewed. Those identified as "noncompliant" (with 3 doses or less) will be dropped from the prior authorization list. Providers will need to resubmit a prior authorization request for this "noncompliant" group. The prior authorization process would then recycle beginning in October 1, 2008 and extend to April 30, 2009. Prior authorization forms will be developed for each individual region and the provider community will be notified via RV Banners of the new process.

