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This document will assist persons with determining what type of 

tattoo license they need. 
  

A. Tattoo Artist Licensure Requirements, page 2 
 

B. Tattoo Artist with an Active License, page 3 
 

C. Tattoo Artist with No License, page 3 
 

D. Tattoo Artist with unacceptable License, page 4 
 

E. Tattoo Artist with License issued by County or City, page 4 
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Tattoo Artist Licensure Requirements 

In Florida,  

Tattoo Artists from these jurisdictions have been determined to meet the 
educational requirements for the Guest Tattoo Artist Registration. 

A Guest Tattoo Registration requires the following: 
• Completed Application for Guest Tattoo Artist Registration. (170kb 

PDF) ($35).  
• Proof of active license, registration, or certification outside of 

Florida. 
• Documentation of completed tattoo Education Courses with a passing 

score of at least 70% or comparable education and examination that 
meet or exceed the requirements of s. 381.00775(2)(b)(4), Florida 
Statutes. 

• At least 18 years of age. 
• Copy of government-issued photo ID. 

 
If your state or country does not require a tattoo artist license, 
registration, or certification, you must apply for a Florida Tattoo Artist 
License.  
 

A Tattoo Artist License requires the following: 

• Completed Application for Tattoo Artist License ($60, local county 
health department may charge additional fee).  

• At least 18 years of age 

• Copy of government-issued photo ID 

• Documentation of a completed tattoo Education Courses  with a passing 
score of at least 70%. 

 

Oregon Italy Puerto Rico 

http://www.floridahealth.gov/environmental-health/tattooing/_documents/Application%20for%20Guest%20Tattoo%20Artist%20Registration1.pdf
http://www.floridahealth.gov/environmental-health/tattooing/_documents/Application%20for%20Guest%20Tattoo%20Artist%20Registration1.pdf
http://www.floridahealth.gov/environmental-health/tattooing/tattoo-educational-materials.html
http://www.floridahealth.gov/environmental-health/tattooing/_documents/Tattoo%20Application%20and%20County%20Contact%20Info.pdf
http://www.floridahealth.gov/environmental-health/tattooing/_documents/Tattoo%20Application%20and%20County%20Contact%20Info.pdf
http://www.floridahealth.gov/environmental-health/tattooing/_documents/Tattoo%20Application%20and%20County%20Contact%20Info.pdf
http://www.floridahealth.gov/environmental-health/tattooing/_documents/Tattoo%20Application%20and%20County%20Contact%20Info.pdf
http://www.floridahealth.gov/environmental-health/tattooing/tattoo-educational-materials.html
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   States and Countries that Issue Tattoo Artist Licenses 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

States and Countries that do not Issue Tattoo Artist Licenses 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tattoo Artists holding an active tattoo artist license, 
certification, or registration from the following states/countries 
qualify for the Guest Tattoo Artist Registration or Tattoo Artist 
License.  These artists must complete a Department approved 
Bloodborne Pathogen and Communicable Diseases course. 

1. Alaska        10. Oklahoma 
2. Arkansas     11. Rhode Island 
3. Connecticut                        12. South Dakota 
4. Hawaii     13. Tennessee 
5. Iowa               14. Vermont 
6. Maine     15. Virginia 
7. Mississippi     16. Washington 
8. Missouri      17. Wisconsin 
9. North Carolina                                     18. Portsmouth, U.K. 

     
 

The following states/countries do not license, certify, or register 
tattoo artists.  Therefore, tattoo artists from these states are not 
eligible to apply for a Guest Tattoo Artist Registration, but may 
apply for a Tattoo Artist License and complete required 
Department approved Bloodborne Pathogen and Communicable 
Diseases Course. 

1. Arizona              10. Montana 
2. British Columbia, Canada           11. New Jersey 
3. Delaware              12. North Dakota 
4. Idaho                         13. Ohio 
5. Illinois                         14. Pennsylvania 
6. Indiana                 15. South Carolina 
7. Louisiana              16. Utah 
8. Maryland      
9. Michigan               

17. West Virginia 

http://dec.alaska.gov/eh/fss/Public_Facilities/Body_Art_Home.html
https://www.ok.gov/health/Protective_Health/Consumer_Health_Service/Body_Piercing_and_Tattooing/Body_Piercing_and_Tattoo_Apprentice_Program/index.html
http://www.healthy.arkansas.gov/programs-services/topics/tattoo-and-body-art
http://www.ri.gov/search/result.php?q=tattoo+license
https://www.jud.ct.gov/lawlib/law/tattoo.htm
https://www.spcp.org/us-state-legislative-information/legislation-south-dakota/
http://health.hawaii.gov/san/tattoo-lists/
https://www.tn.gov/health/health-program-areas/eh/eh-programs/eh-tattoo.html
http://idph.iowa.gov/tattoo
https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/fullchapter/26/079
http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/mecdc/environmental-health/el/business/business-answers-tattoos.htm
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov/uploadedFiles/MainSite/Content/Boards/BarberCosmo/A425REGS_Tattooing.pdf
https://msdh.ms.gov/msdhsite/_static/resources/879.pdf
http://www.dol.wa.gov/business/tattoo/laws.html
https://pr.mo.gov/tattooing-rules-statutes.asp
https://dsps.wi.gov/Pages/Professions/TattooistBodyPiercer/Default.aspx
http://ehs.ncpublichealth.com/faf/pti/tattoos.htm
https://www.portsmouth.gov.uk/ext/the-council/transparency/the-tattooing-hygiene-rating-scheme
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States that Issue Unacceptable Tattoo Artist Licenses 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

Tattoo Artist Licenses Issued by County or City 
  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tattoo artists from the following states hold licenses, 
certifications, or registrations that do not state “Tattoo Artist” 
and therefore, are not acceptable.  Tattoo Artists from these 
states need to apply for a Tattoo Artist License, unless the artist 
can obtain documentation from the licensing jurisdiction that the 
license was issued specifically for tattooing. 

1. Alabama         6. Nebraska 
2. Kansas                     7. Nevada 
3. Kentucky                  8. New Hampshire 
4. Massachusetts             9. New Mexico 
5. Minnesota     

       

The following states do not have statewide regulations for 
tattooing.  In these states, some of the counties or cities may 
license, certify, or register the tattoo artists.  Check with tattoo 
artists from these states to determine if they have been issued a 
tattoo artist license, certification, or registration.  

1. California      6. Wyoming 
2. Colorado  
3. Georgia   
4. New York 
5. Texas         

 
      

http://www.alabamapublichealth.gov/foodsafety/body-art.html
http://www.sos.ne.gov/rules-and-regs/regsearch/Rules/Health_and_Human_Services_System/Title-172/Chapter-044.pdf
http://www.kansas.gov/kboc/BAStatsandRegs.htm
http://www.southernnevadahealthdistrict.org/body-art/tattoo-regulations.php
http://chfs.ky.gov/dph/info/phps/tattoo.htm
https://www.oplc.nh.gov/body-art/licensing.htm
http://www.mass.gov/eohhs/docs/dph/environmental/sanitation/bodyart-model-regs.pdf
http://www.rld.state.nm.us/boards/body-art-practitioners.aspx
http://www.health.state.mn.us/divs/hpsc/hop/tattoo/brochure.html
http://www.alabamapublichealth.gov/foodsafety/body-art.html
http://www.laramiecounty.com/_departments/Health/_pdfs/Body_Art/Body%20Art%20Regs2.10.11.pdf
https://dph.georgia.gov/tattoo-studios
https://dph.georgia.gov/tattoo-studios
https://www.health.ny.gov/community/body_art/
https://www.elpasotexas.gov/planning-and-inspections/business-licensing/tattoo-and-body-artist-license

