
Final Order NO. DO 

STATE OF FLORIDA 
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

BOARD OF MASSAGE THERAPY 

IN RE: THE PETITION FOR DECLARATORY 
STATEMENT REQUESTED DAR MIKULA, 
DIRECTOR, FLORIDA SCHOOL OF MASSAGE 

FINAL ORDER 

THIS MATTER came before the Board of Massage (Board) pursuant to Section 120.565, 

Florida Statutes. At a duly-noticed public meeting held on March 14,20 1 1, by teleconference, 

the Board considered the above-referenced Petition for Declaratory Statement. The Petition was 

filed with the Department of Health on January 3 1,201 1. The petition was noticed in the Florida 

Administrative Weekly in Volume 37, No. 07, on February 18,201 1. The Petitioner requests 

that the Board issue a Declaratory Statement interpreting the massage therapy practice act and 

rules as applied to Petitioner and other licensees. More specifically, Petitioner requests that the 

Board state the formal sequence for obtaining continuing education hours for a licensee who 

must take less than twenty-four (24) hours of continuing education for biennial renewal of the 

licensee as required by Rule 64B7-28.009(1)-(3), F.A.C. Petitioner was present without 

counsel. Having considered the Petition and relevant statutes and rules, the Board issues the 

following statement: 

FACTUAL FINDINGS 

I .  The Petition was duly filed and noticed in the Florida Administrative Law Weekly. 

2. . The Petition is attached hereto and incorporated herein by reference. 

3. The Petitioner is a Florida licensed massage therapist and Director of the Florida 

School of Massage and has standing to file a petition for declaratory statement. 



4. The Petitioner seeks a declaratory statement from the Board as to formal sequence for 

obtaining continuing education hours for a licensee who must take less than twenty-four (24) 

hours of continuing education for biennial renewal of the licensee as required by Rule 64B7- 

28.009(1)-(3), F.A.C. or through pro bono services pursuant to Rule 64B7-28.0095, F.A.C. 

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW 

1. The Board has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to Section 120.565 and 

Chapter 486, Florida Statutes. 

2. The Board grants the petition and answers the request for Declaratory Statement 

to state that for licensees required to take less than twenty-four (24) hours of continuing 

education credits at the time of renewal must first fulfill the statutory requirements of Medical 

Errors coursework pursuant to Florida Statutes $456.01 3(7) and HIVIAIDS coursework pursuant 

to Florida Statutes $456.034. Then licensees may take any Board approved continuing education 

courses, including pre-approved pro bono hours, to fulfill the remaining continuing educational 

requirements of Rule 64B7-28.009(1)-(3), F.A.C. 

This Order shall become effective upon filing with the Clerk of the Department of 

Health. B 

DONE AND ORDERED this / ?  d a y o f & h d /  , 

201 1. 

BOARD OF MASSAGE THERAPY 

EXECU?IVE DIRECTOR 
For KAREN G. FORD, CHAIR 



NOTICE OF RIGHT TO JUDICIAL REVIEW 

A party who is adversely affected by this Final Order is entitled to judicial review 

pursuant to Section 120.68, Florida Statutes. Review proceedings are governed by the Florida 

Rules of Appellate Procedure. Such proceedings are commenced by filing one copy of a Notice 

of Appeal with the Agency Clerk of the Department of Business and Professional Regulation and 

a second copy, accompanied by filing fees prescribed by law, with the District Court of Appeal, 

First District, or with the District Court of Appeal in the Appellate District where the party 

resides. The Notice of Appeal must be filed within thirty (30) days of rendition of the order to be 

reviewed. 

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 

I HEREBY CERTIFY that a true and correct copy of the foregoing Notice has been 

provided by Certified Mail to: Dar Mikula, Director, Florida School of Massage, 6421 SW 

1 3 ~ ~  Street, Gainesville, Florida 32608, and by hand1 interoffice delivery to Jaime Doyle Liang, 

th 
Assistant Attorney General, PL-01 The Capitol, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-1050. this 77) 
day of 20 : ,2011. 

Deputy Agency Clerk 



PETITION FOR DECLARATORY STATEMENT BEFORE THE FLORIDA BOARD 
OF MASSAGE THERAPY 

Petitioner: 
Dar Mikula, Director 
Florida School of Massage 
6421 SW 13'~ Street 
Gainesville, FL 32608 
p. 352.378.7891 
f .  352.381.8808 
amail: Dar@floridaschoolofmassa~e.com 
LMT: MA14016 (1992) 

FILED 
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

DEPUTY CLERK 
CLERK Angel Sanders 

DATE m 3 1 2011 

Regarding: 
Florida Administrative Code, Rule 6487-28.009 Continuing Education f1,2,3) 
and 6487-28.0095 Continuing Education for Pro Bono Services (4) 

Date: 
January 28,2011 

Description of how the rule substantially affects petitioner: 
As both a Florida-Board Approved School and an Florida-Approved Provider 
for Continuing Education, we need to know the order, if any, that the 
required Continuing Education hours in this rule {and related Pro Bono 
Services) need to be assigned to licensees that require 23 or less hours as 
required in 64B7-28.009 (1). 

Further Comments: 
There are exemptions for Laws and Rules, and Ethics, for Initial Licensure in 
28.009(1), statutory requirements (HIV/AIDS Section 456.034, F.S.), 
live/hands-on requirements in 28.009 (3)(a), a prevention of medical errors 
course requirement in (3)(b), an "other" category in (3)(c), and a Pro Bono 
Services allowance in 28.0095. These rules are missing direction from the 
Board on how a licensee with less than a biennium of ficensure (23 or less 
required hours) should proceed in "right order" in obtaining their required 
Continuing Education hours. 



Our school knows the Board's "preferential sequence" but there is nothing 
formally written in this Rule for Florida LMTs to follow. Please advise. 

Respectfully, 

Dar Mikula, Director 
Florida School of Massage 


