## Florida's Rural Counties 2020 Census

County	Population
Baker	28,259
Bradford	28,303
Calhoun	13,648
Columbia	69,698
Desoto	33,976
Dixie	16,759
Franklin	12,451
Gadsden	43,826
Gilchrist	17,864
Glades	12,126
Gulf	14,192
Hamilton	14,004
Hardee	25,327
Hendry	39,619
Highlands	101,235
Holmes	19,653
Jackson	47,319
Jefferson	14,510
Lafayette	8,226
Levy	42,915
Liberty	7,974
Madison	17,968
Monroe	82,874
Nassau	90,352
Okeechobee	39,644
Putnam	73,321
Sumter	129,752
Suwannee	43,474
Taylor	21,796
Union	16,147
Wakulla	33,764
Walton	75,305
Washington	25,318

## Source: http://edr.state.fl.us/content/area-profiles/2020-census-county-city/index.cfm

The State of Florida defines rural as:

- A county with a population of 75,000 or less
- A county with a population of 125,000 or less which is contiguous to a county of 75,000 or less
- Any municipality within a county as described above

(Section 288.0656, Florida Statutes)

Updated February 2023