
Other Vital Statistics Services
We also offer Certifications of

Florida Events: Birth, Death, Marriage, 
and Divorce

Questions?
Telephone: (904) 359-6900

Adoptions ext. 9001
Amendments, Corrections ext. 9005
Apostille ext. 9006
Cause of Death, Medical ext. 9013
Client Services (certifications) ext. 9000
Delayed Birth ext. 9003
Legal Name Change ext. 9005
Paternity ext. 9004
Presumptive Death ext. 1015

or write to:
Office of Vital Statistics

Post Office Box 210 
Jacksonville, Florida

32231-0042

The Florida Department of Health

*In commemoration of Katherine’s Law

DH 150-933, 11/06

Would you Like to Order a Florida 
Fetal Death Certificate?
A Certificate of Fetal Death is filed whenever the fetus 
dies before birth and the fetus is 20 weeks or more 
gestation

Eligibility Requirements for 
Certification
Cause of death, along with information on the
parents, marital status, and medical details are 
confidential under law, s. 382.015(5), 382.025
(2)(a)(1), F.S.  The named parents must provide a 
written application and valid government issued photo 
identification (e.g. driver’s license, passport, military
ID, state issued ID) to determine their eligibility in 
obtaining the certification of the entire fetal death 
certificate.  A certification without the confidential 
information is available to anyone and there are no ID 
requirements.

How to Apply
The fee for a certification of a Fetal Death is $5
and $4 for additional copies ordered at the same
time.  Check or money order should be made payable 
to Vital Statistics and must be in U.S. currency if an 
international order. Florida law imposes an additional 
service charge of $15 for bank returned checks.

Vital record fees are nonrefundable, with one 
exception.  Fees paid for additional copies when
no record is found will be refunded upon written 
request.

By Mail or Credit Card – for an application and 
information on ordering a certification of a fetal death, 
please see the Florida Vital Statistics website at:
www.floridahealth.gov/certificates/certificates/death/ 
fetal-death/index.html



Application
for Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth

(First copy is $9; additional copies are $4 each 
if ordered at the same time)

REGISTRANT:

SexFull Name on State Record

City or County of EventDate of Event

Name of Hospital or Birthing Facility

Mother/Parent Full Name

Father/Parent Full Name

APPLICANT:

Name

Signature of Applicant

Relationship to Registrant (mother/parent, father/parent)

                                              / $
Number of copies ordered /Amount of money enclosed

APPLICANT’S MAILING ADDRESS:

Apt. No.Street Address

City, State, Zip

Telephone (daytime)

Tear off the above application and mail with payment to:
Office of Vital Statistics
Attn:  Client Services 

P.O. Box 210
Jacksonville, FL 32231-0042

How to Apply
The fee for a certification of a Certificate of Birth Resulting
in a Stillbirth is $9; additional copies are $4 each if ordered
at the same time.  Check or money order should be made
payable to Vital Statistics and must be in U.S. dollars if an
international order.  Florida law imposes an additional 
service charge of $15 for bank returned checks.

1.) In Person: Office of Vital Statistics 
1217 Pearl Street
Jacksonville, FL 32202
Hours of operation are Monday-Friday, 
8:00 am – 4:30 pm

2.) By Mail – Complete the convenient order form inside
this brochure.  If this is the initial request, the parent must
include a copy of the applicant’s valid government issued
photo ID, such as driver’s license, passport, state or 
military issued ID.

The certification will be mailed within 7 – 10 days of
receipt; same day service is not available for this request.

RUSH service is provided for an additional $10. Your 
order will be processed within 3 work days of receipt.
Please write RUSH on the outside of the envelope.

3.) By Credit Card – if you wish to pay by credit card,
you may use VitalChek, a private firm approved by the
state to process all credit card orders.  VitalChek charges 
a $5 processing fee plus the $10 RUSH fee as mentioned
above.

For more VitalChek information:
Call 1 (877) 550-7330  OR Fax 1 (877) 550-7428 
(Fax request must include a credit card number)

For return overnight service (e.g. FEDEX, DHL, US Postal
Express) an additional service fee will be applied and 
applicant must provide a physical address; a P.O. Box will
not be accepted.

Florida Certificate of Birth Resulting in 
Stillbirth
In 2006, the Florida State Legislature established a new 
certificate entitled Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth
(section 382.0085, Florida Statutes).

For any stillborn child in Florida, the department will issue 
a Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth upon the 
request of a parent named on a fetal death certificate. 
There must be a fetal death certificate on file with the 
Florida Office of Vital Statistics in order for a Certificate
of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth to be prepared.  The 
Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth is not proof of
live birth and may not be used to establish identity. 
Gestation must be 20 weeks or more.

The funeral director shall advise the parent(s)
of a fetal death:

• That they may request a Certificate of Birth Resulting in
Stillbirth in addition to the fetal death certificate.

• How to contact the Office of Vital Statistics to request
such a certificate and that once a Certificate of Birth 
Resulting in Stillbirth has been issued, that stillbirth       
certificate becomes public record and it is not 
confidential.

Eligibility Requirements for Certification
The first request for a Certificate of Birth Resulting
in Stillbirth must meet the eligibility requirements for
the fetal death certificate which includes the confidential 
portions of the record.  The named parent(s) must 
provide a written application and valid government issued 
photo identification, such as driver’s license, military ID, 
passport, state issued ID. This documentation is required 
to determine their eligibility in obtaining the fetal death 
certificate.

A Florida Certificate of Fetal Death must be on file before 
the Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth certificate can 
be issued.  Statute defines a fetal death as one in which
the 20th week of gestation has been reached.




