Florida
HEALTH

State of Florida
Department of Health
Office of Vital Statistics
APPLICATION FOR FLORIDA BIRTH RECORD

Requirement for ordering: If applicant is self, parent, guardian, or legal representative, then the applicant must complete this application and provide a copy of a valid photo
identification. If applicant is not one of the above, the Affidavit to Release a Birth Certificate must be completed by an authorized person and submitted in addition to this

application form. Acceptable forms of identification are the following: Driver’s License,

State Identification Card, Passport, and/or Military Identification Card.

SECTION A — REGISTRANT INFORMATION

FIRST MIDDLE LAST SUFFIX
CHILD’S FULL NAME AS
SHOWN ON BIRTH RECORD
FIRST MIDDLE LAST SUFFIX
IF NAME WAS CHANGED SINCE
BIRTH, INDICATE NEW NAME
MONTH DAY YEAR (4-DIGIT) STATE FILE NUMBER (If known) SEX
DATE OF BIRTH
HOSPITAL CITY OR TOWN COUNTY
PLACE OF BIRTH
FIRST MIDDLE LAST NAME PRIOR TO FIRST MARRIAGE (if applicable) SUFFIX
MOTHER’S / PARENT’S NAME
FIRST MIDDLE LAST NAME PRIOR TO FIRST MARRIAGE (if applicable) SUFFIX
FATHER’S / PARENT’S NAME
SECTION B - FEES & PAYMENT
A BIRTH RECORD SEARCH REQUIRES ADVANCE PAYMENT OF A NON-REFUNDABLE SEARCH FEE OF $9.00 AND VALID PHOTO IDENTIFICATION.
A Computer Certification requires the $9.00 fee which entitles the applicant to one registered birth (1917 to present) or if a
record is not found, a certified “No Record Found” statement will be issued. $9.00 X 1 = | $9.00
. The Computer Certification is recognized and accepted by ALL State and Federal Agencies.
. Normal processing time is 4-6 days, provided the record and application are complete and in order.
A Photocopy Certification (in place of a Computer Certification) requires an additional charge of $5.00 and includes the $9.00 search
fee. Normal processing time is approximately 10 business days. $5.00 X 1 -
Definitions of the two types of Certifications are on the reverse side.
Additional Computer Certifications: _
$4.00 for each subsequent Computer Certification $4.00 X B
Additional Ph py Certificati
$4.00 for each subsequent Photocopy Certiﬁcatiop $4.00 X =
Additional Years to be Searched:
$2.00 for each additional year. The maximum additional year search fee is $ 50.00 regardless of the total number of years to be | $2.00 X =
searched. (Indicate the range of vears to be searched in the 2™ Box.)

RUSH ORDERS (Optional): RUSH Fees are an additional $10.00.
If you desire RUSH service, mark the outside of your envelope “RUSH? (Processing time in our office for Rush Service
is 2-3 business days; routine processing time within our office is 4-6 business days.)

Check here for Rush Order D

TOTAL AMOUNT ENCLOSED: Check or Money Order Payable to: Vital Statistics. (DO NOT SEND CASH)
International payments should be made by Cashier’s Check or Money Order in U. S. Dollars.
Florida Law imposes an additional service charge of $15.00 for dishonored checks.

Total Amount Enclosed

SECTION C - APPLICANT/MAILING INFORMATION

Any person who willfully and knowingly provides any false information on a certificate, record or report required by Chapter 382, Florida Si

dul,

or on any apy
Chapter 775, Florida Statutes.

lication or affidavit, or who obtains

confidential information from any Vital Record under false or fr purposes, its a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in
Applicant’s Name FIRST MIDDLE LAST (INCLUDING ANY SUFFIX)
TYPE OR PRINT
DELIVERY ADDRESS (INCLUDE APT. NO,, IF APPLICABLE) CITY STATE ZIP CODE
HOME PHONE NUMBER (with area code first) RELATIONSHIP TO REGISTRANT SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT

WORK PHONE NUMBER (with area code first)

IF ATTORNEY, PROVIDE BAR/PROFESSIONAL LICENSE NO.

IF ATTORNEY , PROVIDE NAME OF PERSON YOU REPRESENT AND THEIR RELATIONSHIP TO REGISTRANT

IF THE CERTIFICATION IS TO BE MAILED TO ANOTHER PERSON OR ADDRESS USE THE SPACES BELOW TO SPECIFY SHIP TO NAME AND ADDRESS.

SHIP TO NAME FIRST MIDDLE LAST (INCLUDING ANY SUFFIX)
TYPE OR PRINT
HOME PHONE NUMBER SHIP TO STREET ADDRESS (AND APT. NO. IF APPLICABLE)
WORK PHONE NUMBER CITY STATE ZIP CODE
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INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR BIRTH RECORD APPLICATION

COMPUTER CERTIFICATION: The Computer Certifications are accepted by all State and Federal Agencies and used for any type of travel. 4-6 days is
the Normal Response time, provided the record and application are complete and in order.
A Computer Certification has two different formats which are:
e A certification of a registered birth (2004 to Present), supplies the following facts of birth: Childs Name, Date of Birth, Sex, Time, Weight, Place of
Birth (City, County and Location) and Parents Information.
e A certification of a registered birth (1917 to 2003), supplies the following facts of birth: Childs Name, Date of Birth, Sex, County of Birth and
Parents Name.
o Ifthe birth occurred prior to 1917, only photocopies are available. When ordering, select Computer Copy for $9.00. Records are available from 1865
to present but are limited from years 1865-1916.

TIME OF BIRTH: This item was not collected on the birth events between 1949 -1969.

PHOTOCOPY: A photocopy is a certificate of the registered birth on file. Photocopies of birth certificates are certified documents. Normal response time for
photocopies is approximately 10 days.

AVAILABILITY: Birth registration was not required by state law until 1917, but there are some records on file dating back to 1865. Birth records under seal
by reason of adoption, paternity determination or court order cannot be ordered in this manner. For a record under seal, write to ATTN: Records Amendment
Section at the address below.

ELIGIBILITY: Birth certificates can be issued only to:

1. Registrant (the child named on the record) if of legal age (18)

2. Parent(s) listed on the Birth Record

3. Legal Guardian (must provide guardianship papers)

4.  Legal representative of one of the above persons

5. Other person(s) by court order (must provide recorded or certified copy of court order)
In the case of a deceased registrant, upon receipt of the death certificate of the decedent, a certification of the birth certificate can be issued to the spouse, child,
grandchild, sibling, if of legal age, or to the legal representative of any of these persons as well as to the parent.
Any person of legal age may be issued a certified copy of a birth record (except for those birth records under seal) for a birth event that occurred over 100 years
ago.
REQUIREMENT FOR ORDERING: If applicant is self, parent, legal guardian or legal representative, then the applicant must provide a completed
application along with a copy of a valid photo identification. If legal guardian, a copy of the appointment orders must be included with your request. If
legal representative, your attorney bar number, and a notation of whom you represent and their relationship to the registrant must be included with your
request. If'you are an agent of local, state or federal agency requesting a record, indicate in the space provided for “relationship™ the name of the agency.
Acceptable forms of identification are the following: Driver’s License, State Identification Card, Passport and/or Military Identification Card.

RELATIONSHIP TO REGISTRANT: A person ordering his or her own certificate should enter "SELF" in this space. Also, explain if name
has been changed; married name, name changed legally (when and where), etc. Others must identify themselves clearly as eligible (see
ELIGIBILITY above).

FEES ARE NONREFUNDABLE: Fees are nonrefundable, except fees paid for additional copies when no record is found. These are refunded on
written request.

APPLICANT’S SIGNATURE: is required, as well as his/her printed name, residence address and telephone number.

OPTIONS FOR RUSH SERVICE:

e  CREDIT CARDS: The state office currently does not accept credit cards but there is a private firm that accepts such charges and transfers the order
to Vital Statistics for a fee of $7.00 plus a $10.00 Rush Fee charged by the State Office. You may telephone 1-877-550-7330 or you may fax your
request to the private firm at 1-877-550-7428. In any event, you may dial (904) 359-6900 and follow the prompts on the telephone system to be
transferred free of charge to the contracted vendor. If you have any questions please call the Office of Vital Statistics at (904) 359-6900.

e MAILIN: An order with an envelope marked RUSH with a $10 rush fee enclosed, provided the record and application are complete and in order,
will be processed before the normal processing time. This does not include birth records requiring an amendment action. If an amendment action is
necessary, additional processing time will be required.

e WALK-IN SERVICE: Is available at 1217 Pearl Street, Jacksonville, Florida, between 8:00 am — 4:30 pm. Each request must be
accompanied by picture identification. Certifications for photocopies rush service requires an additional fee of $10.

MAIL THIS APPLICATION WITH PAYMENT TO:
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
OFFICE OF VITAL STATISTICS
ATTN: VITAL RECORDS SECTION
P.0. BOX 210,

Jacksonville, FL. 32231-0042
(Street Address: 1217 North Pearl Street, Jacksonville, Florida, 32202)

PLEASE VISIT OUR WEBSITE:
www.FloridaVitalStatisticsOnline.com
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Affidavit of Adoptive Parent(s)
(on behalf of minor child)

This is to advise that I (We),

Legal Name of Adoptive Parents(s)
Legally adopted

Legal Name of Adoptee

who was born in: on
City/State Date of Birth

I (We) hereby consent to the release TO THE ADOPTEE of sealed file information in the custody of the
Department of Health, Office of Vital Statistics located in Jacksonville, Florida. Such release is requested
pursuant to the provisions of section 63.162(4)(a)(b)(c), Florida Statutes.

IF ADOPTED BY TWO PARENTS BOTH PARENTS MUST CONSENT TO RELEASE

Signature of Adoptive Mother/Parent

State of
County of
Sworn to (or affirmed) and subscribed before me, by means of [ physical presence or [J
online notarization, this day of , __(year), by
Signature of Notary Public
Printed Name of Notary Seal
Affiant Personally Known: ; or Produced Identification:

Type of identification produced:

Signature of Adoptive Father/Parent

State of
County of

Sworn to (or affirmed) and subscribed before me, by means of (1 physical presence or [
online notarization, this day of , _ (year), by

Signature of Notary Public

Printed Name of Notary Seal

Affiant Personally Known: ; or Produced Identification:
Type of identification produced:




Affidavit of ADOPTEE

This is to advise that I,

Legal Name of Adoptee

was born in: on
City/State Date of Birth

and adopted by

Name of Adoptive Father/Mother
hereby consent to the release TO ME of sealed file information in the custody of the Department of
Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics located in Jacksonville, Florida. Such release is requested pursuant to
the provisions of section 63.162(4)(a)(b)(c), Florida Statutes.

Signature of Adoptee
State of
County Of
Sworn to (or affirmed) and subscribed before me, by means of [ physical presence or [J
online notarization, this day of , _ (year), by
Signature of Notary Public
Printed Name of Notary Seal
Affiant Personally Known: ; or Produced Identification:

Type of identification produced:




Affidavit of Birthparent(s)

This is to advise that [ (We), am
Legal Name of Birthparent(s)

(are) the birthparent(s) of

Legal Name of Adoptee

who was born in: on
City/State Date of Birth

I (We) hereby consent to the release TO ADOPTEE of sealed file information in the custody of the
Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics located in Jacksonville, Florida. Such release is
requested pursuant to the provisions of section 63.162(4)(a)(b)(c), Florida Statutes.

Mother’s Name as Recorded on Birth Certificate:

IF BOTH PARENTS ARE NAMED ON THE ORIGINAL BIRTH CERTIFICATE, BOTH MUST
CONSENT TO THE RELEASE

Signature of Birth Mother/Parent

State of
County Of
Sworn to (or affirmed) and subscribed before me, by means of [ physical presence or [1
online notarization, this day of , _ (year), by
Signature of Notary Public
Printed Name of Notary Seal
Affiant Personally Known: ; or Produced Identification:

Type of identification produced:

Signature of Birth Father/Parent

State of
County Of
Sworn to (or affirmed) and subscribed before me, by means of [ physical presence
or (I online notarization, this day of , _ (year), by
Signature of Notary Public
Printed Name of Notary Seal
Affiant Personally Known: ; or Produced Identification:

Type of identification produced:




