

Florida Department of Health

Bureau of Vital Statistics www.floridahealth.gov/certificates

APPLICATION FOR FLORIDA DEATH CERTIFICATE (FOR PURPOSE OF OBTAINING AN APOSTILLE OR NOTARIAL CERTIFICATE)

IMPORTANT: When you receive the death certificate from the Bureau of Vital Statistics, you MUST forward the certificate to the Florida Department of State for the Apostille/Notarial Certificate process. Please see reverse side for our online ordering option through VitalChek, our only contracted vendor.

Applicant Information (Eligibility Requirements on Reverse Side)

Any person who willfully and knowingly provides any false information on a certificate, record or report required by Chapter 382, Florida Statutes, or on an application or affidavit, or who obtains confidential information from any Vital Record under false or fraudulent purposes, commits a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in Chapter 775, Florida Statutes.

Mailing Address:	
City:State:ZIP Code: Phone (with area code):email: Relationship to Person on Death Record:Signature: If applicant is an attorney or funeral director, provide name of client you represent: client's relationship to decedent:, and your bar/professional license #: client's relationship to decedent:, and your bar/professional license #: Full Name on Death Record: Sex: Date of Death (If unknown, range of years): Date of Birth: Place of Death (City/County): Surviving Spouse: Social Security Number: Funeral Home Name: Ordering Information (Eligibility Requirements for Cause of Death on Reverse Side) Normal processing time is 5-7 business days.	Apt. #:
Phone (with area code): email: Relationship to Person on Death Record: Signature: If applicant is an attorney or funeral director, provide name of client you represent:	
Relationship to Person on Death Record:	
client's relationship to decedent:, and your bar/professional license #: Information for Death Search Full Name on Death Record: Sex: Date of Death (If unknown, range of years): Date of Birth: Place of Death (City/County): Surviving Spouse: Social Security Number: Funeral Home Name: Ordering Information (Eligibility Requirements for Cause of Death on Reverse Side) Normal processing time is 5-7 business days.	
Information for Death Search Full Name on Death Record:	of client you represent:,
Full Name on Death Record:	, and your bar/professional license #:
Sex: Date of Death (If unknown, range of years): Date of Birth: Place of Death (City/County): Surviving Spouse: Social Security Number: Funeral Home Name: Ordering Information (Eligibility Requirements for Cause of Death on Reverse Side) Normal processing time is 5-7 business days.	for Death Search
Place of Death (City/County):	
Social Security Number:	Date of Birth:
Ordering Information (Eligibility Requirements for Cause of Death on Reverse Side) Normal processing time is 5-7 business days. Fee Quantity	Surviving Spouse:
Normal processing time is 5-7 business days.	Funeral Home Name:
Fee Quantity	irements for Cause of Death on Reverse Side)
First Certificate: \$5.00 - Check appropriate hox:	Fee Quantity
Additional Certificates WITHOUT Cause of Death: \$4.00 each	
Additional Certificates WITH Cause of Death: \$4.00 each X =	X =
Additional Years to be Search: \$2.00 per year. (Required when exact year is unknown. Maximum fee is \$50.00). X	X =
Rush Order (Optional): Rush orders are given priority processing and requires an additional X = \$10 fee. Mark the outside of your envelope "RUSH". Expedite shipping is NOT included. X =	
Shipping & Handling Fee per application (Standard U.S. Postal Delivery)	tal Delivery) X =
VALID PHOTO IDENTIFICATION REQUIRED FOR CAUSE OF DEATH Total Amount Enclosed (See reverse side for additional information and eligibility requirements.) Total Amount Enclosed	

INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR FLORIDA DEATH CERTIFICATE APPLICATION (FOR PURPOSE OF OBTAINING AN APOSTILLE OR NOTARIAL CERTIFICATE)

If you need assistance, please call our Apostille Unit at 904-359-6900, ext. 9006.

A \$5 search fee is included in all orders and is non-refundable. If no record is found, a certified "No Record Found" statement will be issued. Application must include signature of eligible applicant when cause of death is requested.

Foreign embassies or consulates often require an apostille or notarial certificate for vital record certificates. The 1961 Hague Convention established the apostille as a form of authentication for its member states. The apostille certifies the authenticity of the issuing official's signature. Countries that are nonmembers of the 1961 Hague Convention are issued notarial certificates, which also authenticates the issuing official's signature. The Florida Secretary of State is the only designated Competent Authority to issue apostilles in the State of Florida.

Before ordering, we urge you to contact the nearest consulate or embassy for the country in which you will be using the apostille or notarial certificate to obtain their requirements for the vital record certificate.

Obtaining an Apostille or Notarial Certificate is a two-step process:

If you wish to expedite this two-step process, you may order online at <u>www.vitalchek.com/flastorefront</u> VitalChek is our only contracted vendor. VitalChek will collect your ordering information and credit card payment for both steps of the process. Our office will forward your vital record certificate via UPS to the Florida Department of State, Division of Corporations for the apostille process. Once the process is completed, the Florida Department of State will send the certificates via UPS to you. Please note, VitalChek charges an additional \$7 processing fee in addition to both agency fees and 2 UPS shipping fees.

To order by mail, you must complete both steps separately:

- 1. Complete this application to obtain a death certificate from the Bureau of Vital Statistics.
 - Once the death certificate is received, you must forward it to the Florida Department of State, Division of Corporations for the Apostille/ Notarial Certificate. Please visit their website at <u>www.dos.myflorida.com</u> or contact 850-245-6945 for information regarding their application, requirements, processing time, fees, etc. Mailing: Department of State, Division of Corporations, Apostille Certificate, P.O. Box 6800, Tallahassee, FL 32314-6800 Walk in/Courier Delivery: Department of State, Division of Corporations, Apostille Certificate, 2415 N. Monroe Street, Suite 810, Tallahassee, FL 32303.

AVAILABILITY: Some records are on file dating back to 1877, but not all events were registered.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER (Section 119.071, Florida Statutes): Social security numbers held by the Department of Health on death certificates are confidential and will only be issued to an eligible person requesting a confidential record, regardless of the date of death. Therefore, the first five digits of the decedent's social security number will be redacted when issuing a public record request.

ELIGIBILITY (Section 382.025, Florida Statutes):

WITHOUT CAUSE OF DEATH: Any person of legal age (18) may be issued a certified copy of a death record without the cause of death on the record.

CAUSE OF DEATH INFORMATION: Cause of Death for any record over 50 years old may be issued to any applicant of legal age. Death records less than 50 years old with the cause of death information included may only be issued to:

- 1. The decedent's spouse or parent
- 2. The decedent's child, grandchild or sibling, if of legal age
- 3. To any person who provides a will, insurance policy or other document that demonstrates an interest in the estate of the decedent
- 4. To any person who provides documentation that he or she is acting on behalf of any of the above-named persons
- 5. By court order

All requests for a death certificate that includes the cause of death information must state the qualifying eligibility or be accompanied with a notarized Affidavit to Release Cause of Death Information form (DH 1959) signed by an eligible person (form is available on our website) and a copy of valid photo identification of both the person authorizing release and the applicant.

If requesting cause of death, the funeral home of record or attorney representing an eligible person as defined above must include their professional license number, and the name and relationship of the person they are representing. If funeral home is not representing an eligible person or not the funeral home of record, then a completed Affidavit to Release Cause of Death Information form (DH 1959) must accompany the request.

UNKNOWN DATE OF DEATH: If date of death is unknown, the entire year specified will be searched. If the year is unknown, specify the span of years to be searched (Example: 1970 to present) and include payment of \$2.00 per year for each year to be searched. Maximum fee is \$50.00 regardless of the number of years to be searched.

REQUIREMENT FOR ORDERING: Eligible applicant must provide a completed application. A copy of a valid photo identification and any supporting documentation is required when requesting the cause of death portion.

ACCEPTABLE FORMS OF IDENTIFICATION: Driver License, State Identification Card, Passport, Military Identification Card. For mail-in requests, include a copy of the front and back of the ID. A foreign issued driver license, identification card, consular card, or Matricula card require two additional forms of identification, such as a vehicle title or registration, health insurance card, employment ID, school ID, tax document, or mail with current address.

FEES: Check or Money Order Payable to: Vital Statistics. DO NOT SEND CASH. International payments must be made by Cashier's Check or Money Order in U.S. Dollars drawn upon a U.S. Bank. Florida Law imposes an additional service charge of \$15.00 for dishonored checks. Fees are nonrefundable, except fees paid for additional copies when no record is found. These may be refunded upon written request.

OPTIONS FOR ORDERING:

ONLINE: To expedite this two-step process, you may order online at <u>www.vitalchek.com/flastorefront</u> with a credit card. VitalChek is our only contracted vendor. VitalChek charges an additional \$7 processing fee in addition to both agency fees and 2 UPS shipping fees.

MAIL IN (FOR VITAL RECORD CERTIFICATE ONLY): Normal processing time is 5-7 business days. If requesting RUSH service mark the outside of your envelope "RUSH". Rush Orders are given priority processing. Expedite shipping is NOT included in rush fee. All orders require a \$1.00 Shipping and Handling Fee and are mailed Standard U.S. Postal delivery unless a special prepaid express delivery envelope is provided.

WALK-IN SERVICE (FOR VITAL RECORD CERTIFICATE ONLY): Visit 1217 North Pearl Street, Jacksonville, Florida, between 8:00 am – 4:30 pm. Eligible applicants must present a valid ID when requesting confidential records. Photocopy certificates (records prior to 2009) require the \$10 rush fee and may not be available for same day service.

MAIL THIS APPLICATION WITH PAYMENT TO:

FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH, BUREAU OF VITAL STATISTICS

ATTN: APOSTILLE UNIT, P.O. BOX 210, JACKSONVILLE, FL 32231-0042

Express Mail and Courier Deliveries to: 1217 North Pearl Street, Jacksonville, Florida, 32202

PLEASE VISIT OUR WEBSITE: www.floridahealth.gov/certificates