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Florida Department of Health 

Bureau of Vital Statistics 
www.floridahealth.gov/certificates 

 

APPLICATION FOR FLORIDA DISSOLUTION OF MARRIAGE CERTIFICATE  

(DIVORCE OR ANNULMENT) 
(FOR PURPOSE OF OBTAINING AN APOSTILLE OR NOTARIAL CERTIFICATE) 

IMPORTANT: When you receive the dissolution of marriage certificate from the Bureau of Vital Statistics, you must 

forward the certificate to the Florida Department of State for the Apostille/Notarial Certificate process. Please see 

reverse side for our online ordering option through VitalChek, our only contracted vendor.  
 

Applicant Information 

Any person who willfully and knowingly provides any false information on a certificate, record or report required by Chapter 382, Florida 

Statutes, or on an application or affidavit, or who obtains confidential information from any vital record under false or fraudulent 

purposes, commits a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in Chapter 775, Florida Statutes. 
 

Applicant’s Name: _____________________________________________________________________________________ 
    (Person requesting the record) 
 

Mailing Address: ______________________________________________________________________ Apt.#: __________ 
 

City: _______________________________________________ State: ___________ ZIP Code: _______________________ 
 

Phone (with area code): _____________________________ email: ________________________________________________ 
 

Relationship to Person on Record: ____________________________ Signature: __________________________________  
 

Information from Final Judgement 
 

Name of Spouse as Shown on Record: ______________________________________________________________________ 
 

Name of Spouse as Shown on Record: ______________________________________________________________________ 
 

Date of Dissolution (If unknown, range of years):  _________________________________________________________________ 
 

County Where Granted: _________________________________ Case # (if known): ________________________________ 
 

Ordering Information 

 

Normal processing time is 5-7 business days.  
                             Fee             Quantity 

First Certificate: $5.00  
$5.00 X 1 

= 

 

 

Additional Certificates:  $4.00 each  
 

 

X  
 

= 
 

Additional Years to be Search:  $2.00 per year. 

(Required when exact year is unknown. Maximum fee is $50.00). 
 

 

X  
 

=  

 

Rush Order (Optional): Rush orders are given priority processing and requires an additional 

$10 fee. Mark the outside of your envelope “RUSH”. Expedite shipping is NOT included. 
 X  

 

=  

 

Shipping & Handling Fee per application (Standard U.S. Postal Delivery) 

 

  
 

X 
 

 

 

= 
 

 
 

 

Dissolution of Marriage Reports originate from the Clerk of Circuit Court and are forwarded to the Bureau 

of Vital Statistics for permanent filing. This process takes approximately 60 days. If immediate evidence is 

required, please contact the Clerk of Circuit Court where the record originated.  

  

 Total Amount Enclosed 

http://www.floridahealth.gov/certificates
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INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR FLORIDA DISSOLUTION OF MARRIAGE CERTIFICATE 

APPLICATION (DIVORCE OR ANNULMENT) 
(FOR PURPOSE OF OBTAINING AN APOSTILLE OR NOTARIAL CERTIFICATE) 

If you need assistance, please contact our Vital Records Section at 904-359-6900 ext. 9006. 
 

A $5 search fee is included in all orders and is non-refundable. If no record is found, a certified “No Record 

Found” statement will be issued. 
 

Foreign embassies or consulates often require an apostille or notarial certificate for vital record certificates. The 1961 Hague Convention established the 

apostille as a form of authentication for its member states. The apostille certifies the authenticity of the issuing official’s signature. Countries that are 

nonmembers of the 1961 Hague Convention are issued notarial certificates, which also authenticates the issuing official’s signature. The Florida Secretary 

of State is the only designated Competent Authority to issue apostilles in the State of Florida.   
 

Before ordering, we urge you to contact the nearest consulate or embassy for the country in which you will be using the apostille or notarial 

record to obtain their requirements for the vital record certificate. 
 

Obtaining an Apostille or Notarial Certificate is a two-step process: 

If you wish to expedite this two-step process, you may order online at www.vitalchek.com/flastorefront  VitalChek is our only contracted vendor. 

VitalChek will collect your ordering information and credit card payment for both steps of the process. Our office will forward your vital record certificate 

via UPS to the Florida Department of State, Division of Corporations for the apostille process. Once the process is completed, the Florida Department of 

State, Division of Corporations will send the certificates via UPS to you. Please note, VitalChek charges an additional $7 processing fee in addition to both 

agency fees and 2 UPS shipping fees.  
 

To order by mail, you must complete both steps separately: 

1. Complete this application to obtain a dissolution of marriage certificate from the Bureau of Vital Statistics.  

2. Once the dissolution of marriage certificate is received, you must forward it to the Florida Department of State, Division of Corporations for the 

Apostille/ Notarial Certificate. Please visit their website at www.dos.myflorida.com or contact 850-245-6945 for information regarding their 

application, requirements, processing time, fees, etc.  

Mailing: FL Department of State, Division of Corporations, Apostille Certificate, P.O. Box 6800, Tallahassee, FL 32314-6800 

Walk in/Courier Delivery: Department of State, Division of Corporations, Apostille Certificate, 2415 N. Monroe Street, Suite 810, Tallahassee, 

FL 32303. 
 

AVAILABILITY: After a dissolution of marriage (divorce or annulment) has been recorded with the Clerk of Circuit Court, the Clerk forwards a report to 

the Bureau of Vital Statistics for permanent filing. This process takes approximately 60 days.  

Any dissolutions prior to June 6, 1927 are obtainable from the Clerk of Circuit Court in the county where the dissolution was granted. www.flclerks.com.  
 

CERTIFICATE: The Bureau of Vital Statistics issues a Certificate of a Dissolution of Marriage (Divorce or Annulment) as an abstract of information 

taken from the judgment recorded by the Clerk of Circuit Court. The Certificate of Dissolution generally contains only names, and date and place of 

dissolution; and is accepted by all State and Federal Agencies as evidence that a dissolution was finalized and recorded. The complete judgment may be 

obtained from the Clerk of Circuit Court in the county where dissolution was granted. Clerk of Court website: www.flclerks.com.  
 

ELIGIBILITY: Dissolution of Marriage Certificates are public record. No identification is required.  
 

UNKNOWN DATE OF DISSOLUTION OF MARRIAGE: If date of event is unknown, the entire year specified will be searched. If the year is 

unknown, specify the span of years to be searched (Example: 1990 to 2000) and pay $2.00 for each additional year to be searched. Maximum fee is $50 

regardless of the number of additional years to be searched. 

 

REQUIREMENT FOR ORDERING:  Applicant must provide a completed application. For events prior to 1970, the name of the husband must be 

provided as records were only indexed in this manner. For events from 1970 to present, searches may be conducted by the name of either spouse. 
 

FEES: Check or Money Order Payable to: Vital Statistics. DO NOT SEND CASH. International payments must be made by Cashier’s Check or Money 

Order in U.S. Dollars drawn upon a U.S. Bank. Florida Law imposes an additional service charge of $15.00 for dishonored checks. Fees are nonrefundable, 

except fees paid for additional copies when no record is found.  These may be refunded upon written request.  
 

OPTIONS FOR ORDERING: 

ONLINE:  To expedite this two-step process, you may order online at www.vitalchek.com/flastorefront with a credit card. VitalChek is our only contracted 

vendor. VitalChek charges an additional $7 processing fee in addition to both agency fees and 2 UPS shipping fees. 

MAIL IN (FOR VITAL RECORD CERTIFICATE ONLY):  Normal processing time is 5-7 business days. If requesting RUSH service mark the outside of 

your envelope “RUSH”. Rush Orders are given priority processing. Expedite shipping is NOT included in rush fee. All orders require a $1.00 Shipping and 

Handling Fee and are mailed Standard U.S. Postal delivery unless a special prepaid express delivery envelope is provided. Rush service for dissolution of 

marriage within the last 60 days may not be available. 
 

WALK-IN SERVICE (FOR VITAL RECORD CERTIFICATE ONLY):  Visit 1217 North Pearl Street, Jacksonville, Florida, between 8:00 am – 4:30 

pm. Photocopy certificates require the $10 rush fee and may not be available for same day service. 
 

MAIL THIS APPLICATION WITH PAYMENT TO: 

FLORIDA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH, BUREAU OF VITAL STATISTICS 

ATTN:  APOSTILLE UNIT, P.O. BOX 210, JACKSONVILLE, FL 32231-0042 

 

Express Mail and Courier Deliveries to: 1217 North Pearl Street, Jacksonville, Florida, 32202 

 

PLEASE VISIT OUR WEBSITE:  www.floridahealth.gov/certificates 

http://www.vitalchek.com/flastorefront
http://www.dos.myflorida.com/
http://www.flclerks.com/
http://www.flclerks.com/
http://www.vitalchek.com/flastorefront
http://www.floridahealth.gov/certificates
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