Charlie Crist Ana M. Viamonte Ros, M.D., M.P.H.
Govermnor Secretary of Health

INTEROFFICE MEMORANDUM
HSEC 2007-05

DATE: April 16, 2007

TO: County Health Department Directors/Administrators
Environmental Health and Environmental Engineering Directors

THROUGH: Lisa Conti, D.V.M., M.P.H., Dipl. ACVPM, C.E.H.F., Director
Division of Environmental Health
FROM: Eric J. Grimm, MP.A. Chiefﬂ.a"wl

Bureau of Community Environmental Health
SUBJECT: Application Process for Environmental Health Professional Certification

INFORMATION ONLY:

This memo is to clarify the process required for an individual to apply to sit for the certification
examination in Onsite Sewage Treatment and Disposal Systems (OSTDS) and/or Food
Hygiene.

General requirements for initial certification:

As soon as possible, but no later than 30 days after commencement of employment, the
applicant must submit a properly completed application for certification (DH Form 4100 v.11/04),
official college transcripts, and the appropriate fees (currently $50.00 or $37.50 depending on
the year) to the Bureau of Community Environmental Health. Should the applicant be
graduated from a non-accredited university outside of the United States, an original evaluation
from a reliable evaluation service, such as Josef Silny & Associates or World Education
Services, must be submitted in lieu of the transcripts. The fees must be remitted by the
applicant in the form of a sufficiently funded check or money order. This application package
must be submitted at least 60 days prior to the anticipated exam date. Incomplete application
packages cannot be processed. An email or letter will be sent to the applicant to inform them of
the additional items required.

When a completed application package is received, the package will be reviewed to determine if
the applicant meets the educational requirements for certification as per

s. 381.0101(5)(e), Florida Statutes (FS), and section 64E-18.003, Florida Administrative Code
(FAC). If the applicant does not meet the requirements, we will send the applicant a certified
letter to let them know they do not meet the requirements of the statute and/or the rule and to
inform them of their rights under Chapter 120, FS.
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Requirements for initial certification in OSTDS:

If the applicant meets the educational requirements, we will send them an email or letter to
inform them they meet the educational requirements and instruct them regarding the
pre-certification coursework. In that communication, we will give them the telephone number of
Dr. Sonia Cruz and ask them to contact her to register for the next available OSTDS
Accelerated Certification Training in Polk City. We will copy Dr. Cruz on the correspondence to
let her know she can expect a call from the applicant and that the applicant meets all of the
requirements.

The OSTDS Accelerated Certification Training is divided into three parts. After each part, one
third of the certification examination will be administered. If all three parts are passed, it will
take two to three weeks to process the paperwork and mail the certificate to the applicant. If an
applicant fails to achieve a passing score (70%) on any of the three parts of the examination, a
retest for the portion not passed will be administered. If the applicant fails the retest, the
applicant must return to Polk City and retake that portion of the training and the corresponding
examination. When the examination has been passed, it will take one to three weeks to
process the paperwork and mail the certificate to the applicant.

Requirements for initial certification in Food Hygiene:

If the applicant meets the educational requirements, we will send them an email or letter to
inform them they meet the educational requirements and to instruct them regarding the pre-
certification coursework requirements. We will also copy the individual who will administer the
certification examination so they can keep track of the number of potential examinations in their
area. In the communication to the applicant, we will send, via email or letter, the list of the 20
courses that are required to be taken as well as the specific information on how to register
online for the Food and Drug Administration’s Office of Regulatory Affairs Virtual University
(ORAU). Upon completion of the precertification coursework, the applicant must mail a copy of
the one page “My History" sheet to David B. Wolfe, Bureau of Community Environmental
Health, 4052 Bald Cypress Way BIN A08, Tallahassee, FL 32399-1710. When the Bureau
ascertains the applicant has met all of the requirements, the applicant will be sent, via email,
notice that they have met all of the requirements and given a telephone number and email
address of the individual who will administer the Food Protection Certification examination. We
also will copy the individual who will administer the examination so they can make
arrangements to administer any other needed exams in the area at that time. [f the applicant
does not achieve a passing score (70%), they will be offered the opportunity to retest, unless
there are extenuating circumstances that would preclude retesting. If the applicant does not
achieve a passing score the second time, they will be administered the examination in the future
after their supervisor determines they are ready to retest. When the examination has been
passed, it will take one to three weeks to process the paperwork and mail the certificate to the
applicant.
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Requirements to become certified in a second program:

When a properly completed application and the appropriate fees (currently $10.00) are received
(transcripts are not necessary a second time), we will notify the applicant that they meet the
requirements and inform them of the process necessary to take the precertification coursework
and the certification examination described for OSTDS or Food Hygiene, whichever is
applicable.

Should you have any questions or need additional information, contact David B. Wolfe by email
at DavidB_Wolfe @doh.state.fl.us or by telephone at (850) 245-4277 or SunCom 205-4277.
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