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Are you an active duty member of the United States Armed Services?
Are you a veteran of the United States Armed Services?
Are you the spouse of a veteran of the United States Armed Services?

Are you the spouse of an active member of the United States Armed Services?

If you answered “Yes” to any of these questions, you may qualify for a reduction in
your application fees. You can find information about the Florida Department of
Health’s commitment to serving members and veterans of the United States Armed
Forces and their families online at

http://www.flhealthsource.gov/valor
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Application for Midwifery Do Not Write in this Space
License by Endorsement For Revenue Receipting Only

Council of Licensed Midwifery
P.O. Box 6330

HEALTH T

Email: mga.midwifery@flhealth.gov

More information about the licensing process and requirements is available at www.floridahealth.gov/licensing-and-
regulation/midwifery/.

Certified Nurse Midwives (CNM) should not apply with the Council of Licensed Midwifery. CNMs must apply
with the Board of Nursing at https://floridasnursing.gov/.

Midwife (3201) by Endorsement (1030) $955.00 Total fee of $955.00 includes the following:

. L . Application Fee (non-refundable) $200.00
Applicants for midwifery licensure by endorsement must hold a | pitia| Licensure Fee (refundable) $500.00
current, valid license to practice midwifery in another state or Endorsement Fee (refundable) $250.00
country. If you do not hold a license to practice midwifery, you | Unlicensed Activity Fee (refundable) $5.00
will need to apply by examination.

Fees must be paid in the form of a cashier’s check or money order, made payable to the Department of Health. Requests to
withdraw or for a refund must be made in writing. Fees are refundable for up to three vears from the date of receipt.

1. PERSONAL INFORMATION

Name: Date of Birth:
Last/Surname First Middle MM/DD/YYYY

Mailing Address: (The address where mail and your license should be sent)

Street/P.O. Box Apt. No. City

State ZIP Country Home/Cell Telephone

Physical Location: (Required if mailing address is a P.O. Box- This address will be posted on the Department of Health’'s website.)

Street (Place of Employment) Suite No.  City

State ZIP Country Work/Cell Telephone
EQUAL OPPORTUNITY DATA:

We are required to ask that you furnish the following information as part of your voluntary compliance with 41 CFR Part 60-3-
Uniform Guidelines on Employee Selection Procedure (1978); 43 FR 38295 and 38296 (August 25, 1978). This information is
gathered for statistical and reporting purposes only and does not in any way affect your candidacy for licensure.

Gender: [ Male Race: [_] Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 1 Hispanic or Latino ] white
[JFemale ] American Indian or Alaska Native [ Black or African American [] Asian
[] Two or More Races

Email Notification: To be notified of the status of your application by email, check the “Yes” box and fill in your email address on the
line provided. If you choose to be notified via email you will be responsible for checking your email regularly and updating your email
address with the council office.

[ Yes ] No Email Address:

Under Florida law, email addresses are public records. If you do not want your email address released in response to a public records
request, do not provide an email address or send electronic mail to our office. Instead contact the office by phone or in writing.
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2. SOCIAL SECURITY DISCLOSURE

This information is exempt from public records disclosure.

Pursuant to Title 42 United States Code § 666(a)(13), the Department of Health is required and
authorized to collect Social Security numbers relating to applications for professional licensure.
Additionally, section (s.) 456.013(1)(a), Florida Statutes, authorizes the collection of Social Security
numbers as part of the general licensing provisions.

Last Name:

First Name:

Middle Name:

Social Security Number:

Social Security Disclosure Information: * Under the Federal Privacy Act, disclosure of Social
Security numbers is voluntary unless specifically required by federal statute. In this instance, Social
Security numbers are mandatory pursuant to Title 42 United States Code § 653 and 654; and s.
456.013(1), 409.2577, and 409.2598, Florida Statutes. Social Security numbers are used to allow
efficient screening of applicants and licensees by a Title IV-D child support agency to ensure
compliance with child support obligations. Social Security numbers must also be recorded on all
professional and occupational license applications and will be used for license identification pursuant to
Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 (Welfare Reform Act. 104
Pub. L. Section 317). Clarification of the SSA process may be reviewed at www.ssa.gov or by calling 1-
800-772-1213.

You may apply for licensure before obtaining a Social Security number. However, you will not be
issued a license until proof of a U.S. Social Security number is received.
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Name:

3. APPLICANT BACKGROUND

A. List any other name(s) by which you have been known in the past. Include all names which may appear on
documents submitted in support of your application. Attach additional sheets if necessary.

B. Do you hold, or have you ever held a license to practice midwifery or any other health-related license(s)?

[DYes []No
C. List all health-related licenses (active, inactive, or lapsed).
License Original Date Expiration
Tvoe License # State/Country Issued Date Status of License
yp (MM/DD/YYYY) | (MM/DD/YYYY)

For any license(s) listed in question C, you may be required to submit official license verification.

Council staff will attempt to verify any license listed using available primary-source verification tools (i.e. online
verification portals). If primary-source verification is not available, you will be notified in writing that official license
verification is required.

All applicants must submit a copy of the laws and rules under which the certificate or license to
practice midwifery was issued to the council office.

Documents required in this section may be submitted with this application.

After submission of this application, required documents may be submitted by:
¢ uploading the documents using the MQA Online Services Portal (www.flhealthsource.gov),
¢ emailing the documents to MQA.Midwifery@flhealth.gov, or
¢ mailing the documents to:

Council of Licensed Midwifery
4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin C-06
Tallahassee, FL 32399-3255

4. AVAILABILITY FOR DISASTER

Would you be willing to provide health services in special needs shelters or to help staff disaster medical assistance
teams during times of emergency or major disaster? [ ]Yes []No
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Name:

5. EDUCATION AND TRAINING HISTORY

A. Midwifery Education and Training: List the midwifery or other training program you attended.

Graduation Date

Program Name Program State or Country (MM/DD/YYYY)

B. Prelicensure Course: Applicants educated in another state or country must complete a prelicensure course
with a Florida council approved midwifery program.

List the Florida council approved midwifery program where you completed your prelicensure course.

Completion Date

Approved Midwifery Program Name (MM/DD/YYYY)

|:| | authorize the approved midwifery program listed above to release my prelicensure transcript.

6. EXAMINATION HISTORY

North American Registry of Midwives (NARM) - Examination Results

|:| | have not yet taken the required NARM examination.

|:| | have taken the required NARM examination.

All applicants must request that their NARM results be sent directly to the council office. NARM results
submitted by applicants will not be accepted.

For additional information about the NARM examination, visit narm.org.

Requests for agency authorization to test made directly by applicants will not be accepted. If you require
authorization to test, contact the Florida council approved midwifery program where you completed your
prelicensure course.

7. GENERAL EMERGENCY CARE PLAN

All applicants are required to provide a general emergency care plan pursuant to s. 467.017(1), Florida
Statutes.

Submit your general emergency care plan on Form DH-MQA 1077, “General Emergency Care Plan for
Licensed Midwives.” The form is available online at http://www.floridahealth.gov/licensing-and-
regulation/midwifery/resources. The form required in this section may be submitted with your application.

After submission of this application, the required form may be submitted by:
e uploading the form using the MQA Online Services Portal (www.flhealthsource.gov),
¢ emailing the form to MQA.Midwifery@flhealth.gov, or
¢ mailing the form to:

Council of Licensed Midwifery
4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin C-06
Tallahassee, FL 32399-3255

DH-MQA 5058, 4/2022, Rule 64B24-2.001, F.A.C. Page 6 of 12



Name:

This information is exempt from public records disclosure.

8. HEALTH HISTORY

Physical and Mental Health Disorders Impacting Ability to Practice

A. During the last two years, have you been treated for or had a recurrence of a diagnosed physical or mental
disorder that impaired or would impair your ability to practice? [ ] Yes [ ] No

B. In the last two years, have you been admitted or referred to a hospital, facility or impaired practitioner program
for treatment of a diagnosed mental or physical disorder that impaired your ability to practice? [] Yes [] No

Substance-Related Disorders Impacting Ability to Practice

C. During the last five years, have you been treated for or had a recurrence of a diagnosed substance-related
(alcohol or drug) disorder that impaired or would impair your ability to practice? []Yes []No

D. During the last five years, were you admitted or directed into a program for the treatment of a diagnosed
substance-related (alcohol or drug) disorder or, if you were previously in such a program, did you suffer a
relapse? [ ] Yes []No

E. During the last five years, have you been enrolled in, required to enter, or participated in any substance-related
(alcohol or drug) recovery program or impaired practitioner program for treatment of drug or alcohol abuse?

[ Yes []No

If a “Yes” response was provided to any of the questions in this section, provide the following documents
directly to the council office:

A written self-explanation which identifies the medical condition(s) or occurrence(s) and current status.

A letter from a Licensed Health Care Practitioner who is qualified by skill and training to address the
condition identified, which explains the impact the condition may have on your ability to practice the
profession with reasonable skill and safety. The letter must specify that you are safe to practice the
profession without restrictions, or indicate the restrictions that are necessary. Documentation provided
must be dated within one year of the application date.

Documents required in this section may be submitted with this application.
After submission of this application, required documents may be submitted by:

e uploading the documents using the MQA Online Services Portal (www.flhealthsource.gov),
¢ mailing the documents to:

Council of Licensed Midwifery
4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin C-06
Tallahassee, FL 32399-3255
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Name:

9. DISCIPLINE HISTORY

A. Have you ever had any professional license or license to practice revoked, suspended, placed on probation, or
received a disciplinary action taken in any state, territory, or jurisdiction? []Yes [ No

B. Have you ever had any application for a license to practice a profession, including midwifery, denied by any
state board/council or the licensing authority of any state, territory, or jurisdiction? []Yes [] No

C. Are you currently under investigation or is any disciplinary action pending against you in any state, territory, or
jurisdiction that would constitute a violation of s. 467.203, Florida Statutes? []Yes [ No

D. Have you ever been notified to appear before any licensing agency for a hearing on a compliant of any nature,
including, but not limited to, a charge of violation of the midwifery and/or medical practice act(s), for
unprofessional or unethical conduct? [] Yes []No

If you responded “Yes” to any of the questions above, complete the following:

Name of Agency State (MAMC;II;S /YD$$:) Final Action AL;::::?
LIy CIN
L1y CIN
Oy [CIN

If you responded “Yes” to question A, B, C, or D, you must provide the following:

A written self-explanation, which describes in detail the circumstances surrounding each disciplinary
action, denial, investigation, or hearing.

A copy of the Administrative Complaint and Notice of Intent to Deny or Final Order.

Any other relevant filings entered by the licensing agency related to the action taken.

E. Have you ever had any judgements entered against you related to the practice of midwifery or any other health
care profession? []Yes []No

F. Have you ever been sued for malpractice? []Yes []No

If you responded “Yes” to question E or F, you must provide the following:

A written self-explanation which describes in detail your involvement in each case.

A copy of the Complaint and Disposition for each case.

Documents required in this section may be submitted with this application.

After submission of this application, required documents may be submitted by:
¢ uploading the documents using the MQA Online Services Portal (www.flhealthsource.gov),
¢ emailing the documents to MQA.Midwifery@flhealth.gov, or
¢ mailing the documents to:

Council of Licensed Midwifery
4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin C-06
Tallahassee, FL 32399-3255
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Name:

10. CRIMINAL HISTORY

A. Have you ever been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty, nolo contendere, or no contest to any crime in any
jurisdiction other than a minor traffic offense? You must include all misdemeanors and felonies, even if
adjudication was withheld. Reckless driving, driving while license suspended or revoked (DWLSR), driving
under the influence (DUI) or driving while impaired (DWI) are not minor traffic offenses for purposes of this
question. [] Yes [] No

B. Have you ever been arrested or criminally or civilly charged with any intentional or negligent action related to
use or misuse of drugs, alcohol, or illegal chemical substances? [] Yes []No

If you responded “Yes” to any question in this section, complete the following:

Offense Jurisdiction/State (MM /Ig;;sYYY) Final Disposition Al;::::?
L1y LCIN
L1y LIN
Cly [N

If you responded “Yes” to any question in this section, you must provide the following:

A written self-explanation which describes in detail the circumstances surrounding each offense and
includes the date of the offense, where the offense occurred (city and state), the charge(s), and the final
disposition(s).

Arrest Records and Final Dispositions for all offenses. The Clerk of Court in the jurisdiction where the
offense took place will provide you with these documents. If records are unavailable, documentation of
the unavailability of records must come from the Clerk of Court in the jurisdiction where the offense took
place, in the form of a letter which states that the records are unavailable.

Completion of Sentencing Documents. You may obtain documents from the Department of
Corrections. The report must include the start date, end date, and that the sentence was completed.

Documents required in this section may be submitted with this application.

After submission of this application, required documents may be submitted by:
¢ uploading the documents using the MQA Online Services Portal (www.flhealthsource.gov),
e emailing the documents to MQA.Midwifery@flhealth.gov, or
¢ mailing the documents to:

Council of Licensed Midwifery
4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin C-06
Tallahassee, FL 32399-3255
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Name:

11. CRIMINAL AND MEDICAID / MEDICARE FRAUD QUESTIONS

IMPORTANT NOTICE: Applicants for licensure, certification, or registration and candidates for examination may be
excluded from licensure, certification, or registration if their felony convictions fall into certain timeframes as
established in s. 456.0635(2), Florida Statutes.

1. Have you been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere, regardless of adjudication, to a
felony under Chapter (ch.) 409, Florida Statutes (relating to social and economic assistance), ch. 817, Florida
Statutes (relating to fraudulent practices), ch. 893, Florida Statutes (relating to drug abuse prevention and
control), or a similar felony offense(s) in another state or jurisdiction? []Yes [No

If you responded “No” to the question above, skip to question 2.

a. If*Yes” to 1, for the felonies of the first or second degree, has it been more than 15 years from the date of
the plea, sentence, and completion of any subsequent probation? []Yes [] No

b. If“Yes” to 1, for the felonies of the third degree, has it been more than ten years from the date of the plea,
sentence, and completion of subsequent probation (this question does not apply to felonies of the third
degree under s. 893.13(6)(a), Florida Statutes)? []Yes []No

c. If“Yes” to 1, for the felonies of the third degree under s. 893.13(6)(a), Florida Statutes, has it been more
than five years from the date of the plea, sentence, and completion of any subsequent probation?

Jyes [No

d. If“Yes” to 1, have you successfully completed a drug court program that resulted in the plea for the felony
offense being withdrawn or the charges dismissed (if “Yes,” provide supporting documentation)?

[dYes [No
2. Have you been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, to a
felony under 21 U.S.C. ss. 801-970 or 42 U.S.C. ss. 1395-1396 (relating to public health, welfare, Medicare and
Medicaid issues)? [] Yes [] No

If you responded “No” to the question above, skip to question 3.

a. If*Yes” to 2, has it been more than 15 years before the date of application since the sentence and any
subsequent period of probation for such conviction or plea ended? []Yes [] No

3. Have you ever been terminated for cause from the Florida Medicaid Program pursuant to s. 409.913, Florida
Statutes? []Yes [INo

If you responded “No” to the question above, skip to question 4.

a. If you have been terminated but reinstated, have you been in good standing with the Florida Medicaid
Program for the most recent five years? [] Yes []No
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Name:

4. Have you ever been terminated for cause, pursuant to the appeals procedures established by the state, from
any other state Medicaid program? []Yes []No

If you responded “No” to the question above, skip to question 5.

a. Have you been in good standing with a state Medicaid program for the most recent five years?

[JYes [No
b. Did termination occur at least 20 years before the date of this application? [ ] Yes [] No

5. Are you currently listed on the United States Department of Health and Human Services’ Office of the Inspector
General’s List of Excluded Individuals and Entities (LEIE)? [] Yes [ No

a. If you responded “Yes” to the question above, are you listed because you defaulted or are delinquent on a
studentloan? [] Yes []No

b. If you responded “Yes” to question 5.a., is the student loan default or delinquency the only reason you are
listed on the LEIE? []Yes []No

If you responded “Yes” to any of the questions in this section, you must provide the following:
A written self-explanation for each “Yes” response which describes in detail the circumstances

surrounding the termination or conviction and includes the county and state of each termination or
conviction and the date of each termination or conviction.

Copies of supporting documentation includes court dispositions or agency orders, if applicable.

Documents required in this section may be submitted with this application.

After submission of this application, required documents may be submitted by:
¢ uploading the documents using the MQA Online Services Portal (www.flhealthsource.gov),
¢ emailing the documents to MQA.Midwifery@flhealth.gov, or
¢ mailing the documents to:

Council of Licensed Midwifery
4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin C-06
Tallahassee, FL 32399-3255

DH-MQA 5058, 4/2022, Rule 64B24-2.001, F.A.C. Page 11 of 12



Name:

12. FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY

Midwives are required to carry professional liability insurance coverage in an amount not less than
$100,000.00 per claim with a minimum annual aggregate of not less than $300,000.00 through an authorized
insurer as defined under s. 624.09, Florida Statutes, a surplus lines insurer as defined under s. 626.914., Florida
Statutes, a risk retention group as defined under s. 627.942, Florida Statutes, the Joint Underwriting Association
established under s. 627.351(4), Florida Statutes, or a plan of self-insurance as provided in s. 627.357, Florida
Statutes, unless exempt from financial responsibility coverage for one of the reasons below.

Council staff cannot advise as to your financial responsibility or malpractice insurance coverage. If you
have questions regarding your financial responsibility, insurance coverage, or requirements for exemption, consult
your legal counsel, insurance company, or financial institution.

Choose only one option that describes your professional liability insurance coverage status or exemption from
financial responsibility.

[] 1 have obtained and will maintain professional liability insurance coverage in an amount not less than
$100,000.00 per claim with a minimum annual aggregate of not less than $300,000.00 from a provider as
described herein.

[C] 1am exempt from financial responsibility coverage because | practice exclusively as an officer, employee,
or agent of the federal government, or of the state of Florida or its agencies or subdivisions.

[J 1am exempt from financial responsibility coverage because | will be practicing exclusively in conjunction
with my teaching duties with an approved midwifery program.

[C] 1am exempt from financial responsibility coverage because | will not be practicing in the state of Florida
upon issuance of my midwifery license and will submit proof of professional liability coverage at least 15 days
prior to beginning practice in the state of Florida.

[] 1am exempt from financial responsibility coverage because | have no malpractice exposure in the state of
Florida.

Providing false information in response to this question may result in denial of licensure or disciplinary
action against your license once issued, and/or criminal penalties as provided in s. 456.067, 456.072,
467.201(5), 456.203(1)(a), 775.082, 775.083, and 775.084, Florida Statutes.

13. APPLICANT SIGNATURE

[, the undersigned, state that | am the person referred to in this application for licensure in the state of Florida.

| recognize that providing false information may result in disciplinary action against my license or criminal penalties
pursuant to s. 456.067, Florida Statutes.

Florida law requires me to immediately inform the council of any material change in any circumstances or condition
stated in the application which takes place between the initial filing and the final granting or denial of the license and
to supplement the information on this application as needed.

Section 456.013(1)(a), Florida Statutes, provides that an incomplete application shall expire one year after the initial

filing with the Department of Health.

Applicant Signature Date
You may print this application and sign it or sign digitally. MM/DD/YYYY
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