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SUMMARY ANALYSIS 

 
CS/HB 413 passed the House on March 5, 2012, and subsequently passed the Senate on March 9, 2012.  
The bill makes several changes to ch. 640, F.S., the chiropractic medicine practice act.  The bill: 
 

 Revises the requirements for obtaining a chiropractic medicine faculty certificate;  

 Makes board approval of qualified continuing education courses discretionary, and prohibits certain 
courses;  

 Requires the successful passage of parts I-IV and the physiotherapy exam of the National Board of 
Chiropractic Examiners; 

 Caps at $1500 the amount of patient funds a chiropractor may hold in trust, and eliminates 
disciplinary action for certain violations for amounts less than $501; 

 Amends the timeframe for training and oversight of a certified chiropractic physician’s assistant; and  

 Provides exceptions to the types of entities that may hire independent contractors to provide 
chiropractic services and states who may exercise control over a chiropractor’s practice. 

 
The bill has no fiscal impact on the state or local governments. 
 
The bill was approved by the Governor on April 27, 2012, ch. 2012-171, Laws of Florida.  The effective 
date of the bill is July 1, 2012. 
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I. SUBSTANTIVE INFORMATION 
 

A. EFFECT OF CHANGES:   
 
Present Situation 
 
Medical Quality Assurance 
 
The Florida Department of Health (DOH), Division of Medical Quality Assurance (MQA) regulates 
health care practitioners to ensure the health, safety and welfare of the public. Currently, MQA supports 
licensure and disciplinary activities for 43 professions and 37 types of facilities/establishments, and 
works with 22 boards and 6 councils.  Boards are responsible for approving or denying applications for 
licensure and are involved in disciplinary hearings.  The range of disciplinary actions taken by boards 
includes citations, suspensions, reprimands, probations, and revocations. 
 
Boards 
 
A board is a statutorily created entity that is authorized to exercise regulatory or rulemaking functions 
within the MQA.1  Boards are responsible for approving or denying applications for licensure and 
making disciplinary decisions on whether a practitioner practices within the authority of their practice 
act.  Practice acts refer to the legal authority in state statute that grants a profession the authority to 
provide services to the public.  The range of disciplinary actions taken by a board includes citations, 
suspensions, reprimands, probations, and revocations.   
 
Board of Chiropractic Medicine 
 
Chiropractors are regulated by the Florida Board of Chiropractic Medicine (board).  The board is 
composed of seven members:2 
 

 Five are licensed in-state chiropractors engaged in the practice for at least 4 years; and  

 Two Florida residents who are not licensed as health care practitioners. 
 
All board members are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate.  Members of the 

board are provided periodic training in the grounds for disciplinary action, actions the board and the 
DOH may take, changes in rules and statutes, relevant judicial and administrative decisions.  Board 
members are appointed to probable cause panels and participate in disciplinary decisions.   
 
The board is tasked with approving continuing education courses.3  The board is required to approve 
continuing education courses that are sponsored by chiropractic colleges whose graduates are eligible 
to take the national examination and the courses must build upon the basic courses required for the 
practice of chiropractic medicine.4  The board is permitted to approve courses in adjunctive modalities.  
Furthermore, the board is directed to require licensees to periodically demonstrate their professional 
competence as a condition of license renewal by completing at least 40 classroom hours of continuing 
education every biennium.5   
 
Chiropractic Physicians 
 
In Florida, chiropractic physicians (chiropractors) are governed by chapter 460, F.S., the chiropractic 
medicine act.  The practice of chiropractic medicine is defined to mean a non-combative principle and 

                                                 
1
 S. 456.001, F.S. 

2
 S. 460.404, F.S. 

3
 S. 460.408, F.S. 

4
 S. 460.408(1), F.S. 

5
 S.460.408(1), F.S. and 64B2-13.004, F.A.C. 
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practice consisting of the science of the adjustment, manipulation, and treatment of the human body.6  
A chiropractor is authorized to adjust, manipulate or treat the human body by manual, mechanical, 
electrical, or natural methods.7  Chiropractors are prohibited from prescribing or administering any 
legend drugs with limited exceptions.8  According to the American Chiropractic Association, there are 
more than 60,000 active chiropractic licenses in the United States and all 50 states officially recognize 
chiropractic medicine as a health care profession.9  Currently, there are 4,667 individuals who hold an 
active in-state license to practice chiropractic medicine in Florida.10   
 
Licensure requirements for chiropractic physicians include: graduation from a chiropractic college that 
is accredited by the Council on Chiropractic Education; passage of the National Board of Chiropractic 
Examiners certification examination; and submission of an application and fees to the department.11  A 
Chiropractor may be disciplined for misconduct and violating any provision contained within the 
chiropractic medicine practice act.12  A chiropractor may be disciplined for failing to preserve the identity 
of funds held in trust and property of a patient in any amount.13  Currently, statute does not provide a 
cap on the amount of funds that a chiropractor may hold in trust as an advance for costs and expenses 
for rendered services. 
 
National Examination 
 
The Florida chiropractic licensure examination is conducted by the National Board of Chiropractic 
Examiners.  The exam is composed of four parts and two elective examinations: 14 

 

 Part I tests individuals on subjects in each of six basic science areas: general anatomy, spinal 
anatomy, physiology, chemistry, pathology, and microbiology. 

  

 Part II tests individuals on each of six clinical science areas: general diagnosis, 
neuromusculoskeletal diagnosis, diagnostic imaging, and principles of chiropractic, chiropractic 
practice, and associated clinical sciences. 
 

 Part III tests individuals on nine clinical areas: case history, physical examination, 
neuromusculoskeletal examination, diagnostic imaging, clinical laboratory and special studies, 
diagnosis or clinical impression, chiropractic techniques, supportive interventions, and case 
management.  

 

 Part IV is a practical exam that tests individuals on three major areas: x-ray interpretation and 
diagnosis; chiropractic technique; and case management. 

 

 Physiotherapy (optional) tests individuals on passive15 and active16 adjunctive procedures. 
 

                                                 
6
 S. 460.403(9)(a), F.S. 

7
 S.  460.403(9)(c), F.S. 

8
 Id.  Chiropractors may order, store, and administer, for emergency purposes only, prescription medical oxygen, any solution 

consisting of 25 percent ethylchloride and 75 percent dichlorodifluoromethane, and any solution consisting of 15 percent 
dichlorodifluormethane and 85 percent trichloromonofluoromethane. 
9
American Chiropractic Association, General Information about Chiropractic Care, available at:  

www.acatoday.org/pdf/Gen_Chiro_Info.pdf (last viewed November 30, 2011).  
10

 Florida Department of Health, Division of Medical Quality Assurance, 2010-2011 MQA Annual Report, available at: 
http://doh.state.fl.us/mqa/reports.htm (last viewed October 27, 2011). 
11

 S. 460.406, F.S. 
12

 S. 460.412, 460.411, and 460.413, F.S. 
13

 S. 460.13(1)(y), F.S. 
14

 National Board of Chiropractic Examiners, Written Examinations: Overview, available at: http://www.nbce.org/written/overview.html 

(last viewed December 2, 2011). 
15

 Passive adjunctive procedures include thermotherapy, electrotherapy, mechanotherapy and phototherapy. 
16

 Active adjunctive procedures include functional assessment, exercise physiology, endurance training, muscle rehabilitation, 
neuromuscular rehabilitation, and disorder-specific rehabilitation. 

http://www.acatoday.org/pdf/Gen_Chiro_Info.pdf
http://doh.state.fl.us/mqa/reports.htm
http://www.nbce.org/written/overview.html
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 Acupuncture (optional) tests individuals on the history and philosophy of acupuncture in a 
chiropractic setting, organs, Qi (life energy) and fluid, channels and pathways, acupoints, 
acupuncture techniques, basic treatment tenets and protocols, and safety and hygiene. 

 
Chiropractic Practice Ownership 
 
Generally, only a sole proprietorship, group practice, partnership, or corporation that is wholly owned by 
one or more chiropractic physicians, or by a chiropractic physician and the spouse, parent, child, or 
sibling of that chiropractic physician, may employ a chiropractic physician or hire a chiropractic 
physician as an independent contractor to provide chiropractic services.17  However, exceptions are 
provided in statute for medical doctors, doctors of osteopathic medicine, hospitals, and state-licensed 
insurers.18  Current law also prohibits certain persons from employing or entering into a contract with a 
chiropractic physician and thereby exercising control over patient records, decisions relating to office 
personnel and hours of practice, and policies relating to pricing, credit, refunds, warranties, and 
advertising.  Persons, who are not chiropractic physicians and entities not wholly owned by chiropractic 
physicians or chiropractic physicians and the spouse, parent, child, or sibling of a chiropractic 
physician, are so prohibited.  No exceptions to this prohibition are contained in current law.19   
 
Chiropractic Faculty Certificates 
 
Section 460.4062, F.S., provides for the certification of chiropractic medical faculty at publicly funded 
state universities or colleges.  A chiropractic medicine faculty certificate authorizes the certificate holder 
to practice chiropractic medicine only in conjunction with his or her full-time faculty position at a 
university or college and its affiliated clinics that are registered with the board as sites at which holders 
of chiropractic medicine faculty certificates will be practicing.20   
 
DOH is authorized to issue a chiropractic medicine faculty certificate to an individual without requiring 
them to pass the state examination if they demonstrate to the board: 21 

 

 Possession of a valid license to practice in another state;  

 Graduation from an accredited school or college of chiropractic medicine accredited by the 
Council on Chiropractic Education; and  

 Acceptance of a full-time faculty appointment to teach chiropractic medicine at a publicly-funded 
state university or college that is accredited by the Council on Chiropractic Education, which 
includes a certificate from the dean of the appointing college acknowledging the appointment. 

 
In addition, the individual must be at least 21 years of age, be of good moral character and not be the 
subject of any disciplinary action.  As of November 2011, there are 19 schools accredited by the 
Council on Chiropractic Education Commission on Accreditation in the United States; two are located in 
Florida: Palmer College of Chiropractic (Port Orange) and National University of Health Sciences 
(Pinellas Park).22  Currently, there are 8 individuals who possess a chiropractic faculty certificate.23 
 

  

                                                 
17

 S. 460.4167(1), F.S. 
18

 Id. 
19

 S. 460.4167 (4), F.S. 
20

 S. 460.4062(2), F.S. 
21

 S. 460.4062(1), F.S. 
22

The Council on Chiropractic Education, Accredited Doctor of Chiropractic Programs/Institutions, available at:  http://www.cce-

usa.org/Accredited_Doctor_Chiro.html (last viewed December 1, 2011). 
23

 Supra, note 6, page 2. 

http://www.cce-usa.org/Accredited_Doctor_Chiro.html
http://www.cce-usa.org/Accredited_Doctor_Chiro.html
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Certified Chiropractic Physician’s Assistant 
 
A “certified chiropractic physician’s assistant” is a person who is a graduate of an approved program to 
perform chiropractic services under the indirect or direct supervision24 of an approved supervising 
chiropractic physician or a group of physicians.25  Training programs for certified chiropractic 
physician’s assistants are approved and issued certificates by the board.  The curriculum must consist 
of at least 200 didactic hours and cover a period of 24 months.26  A person who desires to be licensed 
as a certified chiropractic physician’s assistant is required to submit an application for licensure, remit a 
fee and meet eligibility criteria.  A person who is not certified as a chiropractic physician’s assistant and 
represents themselves as such, is guilty of a third degree felony.27  The supervising chiropractor is 
liable for any act or omission of any certified chiropractic assistant under their supervision or control.28 
Currently, there are 174 individuals who hold active in-state certificates as a chiropractic physician’s 
assistant.29 
 
Effect of Proposed Changes 
 
Chiropractic Medicine Faculty Certificate 
 
The bill amends the eligibility requirements for the chiropractic medicine faculty certificate, such that 
DOH may issue a certificate to an individual who has accepted a part-time faculty appointment or 
conducts research at a publicly funded state university, college, or a chiropractic college that is 
accredited by the Council on Chiropractic Education.  This will enable individuals who have not passed 
the chiropractic examination required for licensure to treat patients in conjunction with their duties as 
faculty members or researchers.  Currently, only individuals accepting full-time faculty appointment are 
eligible. 
 
Patient Funds and Property 
 
A chiropractor may be disciplined for failing to preserve the identity of any funds or property of a patient 
and failing to hold any money or property in trust.30  Currently, statute does not provide a cap on the 
amount of funds, value of money or property.  The bill eliminates authority to discipline chiropractors for 
failing preserve the identity of any funds or property of a patient and failing to hold any money or 
property in trust, if the value held by the chiropractor is less than $501.  The bill caps the value of funds 
and property of a patient at $1,500.   
 
National Examination 
 
The bill adds to statute that individuals seeking licensure as a chiropractor must successfully pass parts 
IV and the physiotherapy optional exam conducted by the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners.  
The National Board of Chiropractic Examiners describes the physiotherapy examination as an elective 
examination.31  However, state law requires individuals to only successfully complete parts I-III of the 
national examination.   
Chiropractor Practice Ownership 

                                                 
24

 Indirect supervision requires easy availability or physical presence where the supervising chiropractor can be in a location within 30 
minutes and must be available when needed for consultation and advice either in person or by electronic means.  A chiropractic 
physician assistant working in a facility that holds a health care clinic license may only render services under direct supervision.  See 

ss. 460.403(8) and 460.4165(14),  F.S. and 64B18.001, F.A.C.  
25

.S. 460.403(3), F.S. 
26

 S. 460.414(5), F.S. 
27

 Felony of the third degree is punishable by a term of imprisonment not to exceed 5 years or a fine not to exceed $5,000 (ss. 775.082 
and 775.083, F.S.). 
28

 S. 460.4165(11), F.S. and 64B2-18.006, F.A.C. 
29

 Supra, note 6, page 2. 
30

 S. 460.413(1)(y), F.S. 
31

 National Board of Chiropractor Examiners, Written Examinations: Applicant Eligibility, available at: 
http://www.nbce.org/written/eligibility.html#pht (last viewed December 1, 2011) 

http://www.nbce.org/written/eligibility.html#pht
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The bill provides exceptions to the limitation on employment of chiropractors.  First, the bill provides 
that a trust whose trustees are licensed chiropractors and the spouse, parent, child, or sibling of a 
chiropractic physician may employ a chiropractor as an independent contractor to provide chiropractic 
services.  Secondly, the bill provides that a limited liability company, limited partnership, professional 
association or entity, health maintenance organization, and prepaid health clinic are entities that may 
also employ a chiropractor as an independent contractor.   Third, the bill provides that a surviving 
spouse of a chiropractor may also employ a chiropractor as an independent contractor. 
 
The bill specifies that the surviving spouse or surviving spouse, parent, child, or sibling of the 
chiropractic physician may hold, operate, pledge, sell, mortgage, assign, transfer, own, or control the 
deceased chiropractor’s ownership interests as long as the survivors remain the sole proprietors of the 
practice.  The bill states that any entities that are able to hire a chiropractor as an independent 
contractor may exercise control over the patient records of the employed chiropractor, the policies and 
decisions relating to pricing, credit, refunds, warranties, and advertising, and the decisions relating to 
office personnel and hour of operation.  The bill corrects cross references to statutory provisions that 
provide the punishment for a third degree felony. 
 
According to DOH, the board office has been unable to determine if there have ever been any 
incidences of surviving family members who have been prosecuted by the state for retaining ownership 
after the death of a practitioner, but there have been inquiries concerning the need for disposing of the 
practice of a deceased chiropractor by his or her estate or close surviving relatives.32  The advice has 
always been for the surviving relatives to seek legal guidance in this matter.33  In practice, these 
situations are typically resolved by the quick sale of the practice by the estate of the deceased to 
another appropriately licensed practitioner. 
 
Continuing Education 
 
The bill prohibits the board from approving continuing education courses that include instruction on the 
use, application, prescription, recommendation, or administration of a specific company’s brand of 
products or services.  Consequently, more continuing education courses may be denied by the board.  
The bill gives the board more discretion in approving continuing education courses sponsored by 
chiropractic colleges whose graduates are eligible to take the national examination by removing the 
mandate to approve all courses that meet the qualifications.   
 
According to DOH, most, if not all, of the continuing education course offered by chiropractic colleges 
meet current statutory requirements, thus are automatically approved.34  Additionally, DOH states that it 
does not maintain any information on courses and does not review the content of the continuing 
education courses, this is a board function.35  Currently, DOH has a contract with a vendor called “CE 
Broker” that deals with the continuing education providers.  Thus, the individuals taking the course and 
continuing education providers are the only entities that actually view the materials. 

 
Certified Chiropractic Physician’s Assistant 
 
The bill amends the education requirements for certified chiropractic physician’s assistant such that the 
curriculum of 200 hours does not have to occur in a 24-month period.  According to DOH, currently 
there are two approved certified chiropractic physician’s assistant education programs which are 
modeled to meet statutory requirements.  However, there have been proposals submitted to the board 
for approval that propose offering the same course material over a shorter timeframe.36   

                                                 
32

 Department of Health, Bill Analysis, Economic Statement and Fiscal Note for HB 413, dated November 29, 2011. 
33

 Id. 
34

 Department of Health, Bill Analysis, Economic Statement and Fiscal Note for HB 413, dated November 29, 2011. 
35

 Id. 
36

 Id. 
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In addition, the bill changes the location in which a certified chiropractic physician’s assistant may 
provide services under indirect supervision.  Currently, they may provide services at the address of 
record or place of practice.  The bill limits the practice setting to the supervising chiropractor’s address 
of record.  According to DOH, this limitation will stop the practice of using certified chiropractic 
physician’s assistant to run chiropractic branch offices without the physical presence or direct 
supervision of a chiropractor.37  
 

II.  FISCAL ANALYSIS & ECONOMIC IMPACT STATEMENT 
  

A. FISCAL IMPACT ON STATE GOVERNMENT: 
 
1.  Revenues: 

 
None identified. 
 

2. Expenditures: 
 
None identified. 
 

B. FISCAL IMPACT ON LOCAL GOVERNMENTS: 
 
1. Revenues: 

 
None identified. 
 

2. Expenditures: 
 
None identified. 
 

C. DIRECT ECONOMIC IMPACT ON PRIVATE SECTOR: 
 
None identified. 
 

D. FISCAL COMMENTS: 
 
None. 

                                                 
37

 Id. 


