Skip Global navigation and goto content

It's a New Day in Public Health.

The Florida Department of Health works to protect, promote, and improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county, and community efforts.

Skip MegaMenu and goto content
Megamenu requires javascript to be enabled in your browser.


Contact: Florida Health

Board Appointments

The Advisory Board is authorized in Section 381.82, Florida Statutes. The board shall consist of 11 members appointed by the State Surgeon General. The board shall be composed of two gerontologists, two geriatric psychiatrists, two geriatricians, two neuroscientists, and three neurologists. Initial appointments to the board shall be made by October 1, 2014. The board members shall serve 4-year terms, except that, to provide for staggered terms, five of the initial appointees shall serve 2-year terms and six shall serve 4-year terms. All subsequent appointments shall be for 4-year terms. The chair of the board shall be elected from the membership of the board and shall serve as chair for 2 years. An appointed member may not serve more than two consecutive terms. Appointed members must have experience in Alzheimer’s disease or related biomedical research. The board shall adopt internal organizational procedures as necessary for its efficient organization. The board shall establish and follow rigorous guidelines for ethical conduct and adhere to a strict policy with regard to conflicts of interest. A member of the board may not participate in any discussion or decision of the board or a panel with respect to a research proposal by any firm, entity, or agency with which the member is associated as a member of the governing body or as an employee or with which the member has entered into a contractual arrangement.



Leilani Doty, PhD, Chair   
Director, Cognitive and Memory Disorder Clinic and Associate Scientist, Department of Neurology, University of Florida, McKnight Brain Institute
Appointment Ends: 01/28/2025


Geriatric Psychiatrists:

Uma Suryadevara, MD
Assistant Professor, Department of Psychiatry,
College of Medicine, University of Florida
Appointed: 01/28/2021
Appointment Ends: 01/28/2025

Josepha Cheong, MD
Malcom Randall VA Medical Center
Appointed: 10/25/2018
Appointment Ends: 10/24/2022


Niharika Suchak, MBBS, MHS, FACP
Associate Professor, Department of Geriatrics
College of Medicine, Florida State University
Appointed: 01/28/2021
Appointment Ends: 01/28/2025

Mariana B. Dangiolo, MD
Assistant Professor of Family Medicine and Geriatrics, University of Central Florida
Appointed: 01/28/2021
Appointment Ends: 01/28/2025


Eunsook Yu Lee, PhD
Professor of Pharmacology and Toxicology, College of Pharmacy and Pharmacuetical Sciences, Florida A&M University
Appointed: 08/15/2017
Appointment Ends: 08/14/2021

Leonard Petrucelli, PhD, Assistant Chair
Chair, Department of Neuroscience and Professor of Neuroscience, Mayo Clinic Jacksonville
Appointed: 01/28/2021
Appointment Ends: 01/28/2025


James Galvin, MD, MPH
Professor of Neurology and Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences
Director, Comprehensive Center for Brain Health
University of Miami Miller School of Medicine
Appointed: 11/09/2020
Appointment Ends: 11/08/2024

Neill Graff-Radford, MD
Professor of Neurology
Mayo Clinic Jacksonville
Appointed: 10/01/2014
Appointment Ends: 10/02/2020

Ruth Henchey, MD
Medical Center Clinic
Appointed: 11/09/2020
Appointment Ends: 11/08/2024