It's a New Day in Public Health.
The Florida Department of Health works to protect, promote, and improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county, and community efforts.
CEHP Renewal Requirements
As per the requirements of Section 381.0101, Florida Statutes, and Chapter 64E-18, Florida Administrative Code, Environmental Health Professional Certification for OSTDS and Food Protection, expire September 30 of odd numbered years. The next expiration date for the current cycle is September 30, 2025.
Once an individual is certified, they are required to obtain 24 contact hours of continuing education relating to public health and environmental health principles, within the previous two-year cycle, for each primary program area in which they are certified. Contact Hours may be obtained by completing in-person training presentations, online educational courses, and approved articles amd quizzes found in some environmental health journals.
How Do I Find Contact Hours?
Approved Contact Hours in Environmental Health for the 2023-2025 renewal cycle may be found using the following link: Approved CEHP Contact Hour Trainings for the 2023-2025 CEHP Cycle. (updated 11/27/2023) Please note the tabs near the bottom of the spreadsheet that list each course provider. Click on the tab to access the course provider's training.
Acceptable Subject Areas for Contact Hours?
Acceptable forms of continuing education are related to the following subject areas: food, water, environmental epidemiology, wastewater, solid waste management, air, vector and pest control, biomedical waste, body art, hazardous materials, hazardous waste management, emergency preparedness; specific to environmental health subject area, radiation, housing and institutional health and safety, occupational health and safety, program planning, industrial hygiene, legal aspects related to environmental health, and general environmental health and scientific concepts.
How Do I Apply for CEHP Renewal?
- All Certified Environmental Health Professionals are required to renew certification by submitting a completed Application for Renewal of Environmental Health Professional Certification, DH Form 4101, providing proof of obtaining 24 hours of approved continuing education training per program, and a $25 renewal fee. Each section of this application must be fully completed including Part III: Summary of Training Programs Attended.
- CEHPs holding an active Registered Sanitarian (RS) or Registered Environmental Health Specialist (REHS) credential issued by the Florida Environmental Health Association (FEHA) or National Environmental Health Association (NEHA), must submit proof of a current RS or REHS credential along with a completed Application for Renewal of Environmental Health Professional Certification, DH Form 4101. There is no renewal fee for RS or REHS.
- Mail completed packet, with the required documentation and any applicable fees, to the address below:
Department of Health, Facility Programs Section
4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin A08
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-1710
Attention: Certified Environmental Health Professional (CEHP)
- More information may be found at: CEHP Homepage
Which Contact Hours May Be Used?
Only contact hours received within the biennial period in which the certification was obtain may be used for renewal. The current biennial period is from October 1, 2023 to September 30, 2025. Remember, prerequisite courses can count towards continuing educational hours for your first renewal.
**All renewal applications and payments must be postmarked no later than the close of business on September 30, 2025.**