It's a New Day in Public Health.
The Florida Department of Health works to protect, promote, and improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county, and community efforts.
Birth Resulting in Stillbirth
How to order a Florida Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth
In 2006, the Florida Legislature established a new certificate entitled Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth (Section 382.0085, Florida Statutes).
A Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth is generated from the fetal death record on file and is available from 1947 to present. Gestation must be 20 weeks’ or more, and there must be a fetal death record on file.
A Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth is not proof of live birth and may not be used for any official purposes.
An informational brochure (pdf 3.58mb) is available for the funeral director, physician, medical examiner, and hospital to provide to parents.
Who can request a Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth?
The Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth must be issued first to the parent(s) named on the record, a legal representative, or by court order. Valid photo identification is required. After the first issuance to the parent(s), the record becomes public, and any applicant of legal age (18) may apply.
Ordering a Florida Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth
- ORDER BY MAIL FROM FLORIDA BUREAU OF VITAL STATISTICS
The Bureau of Vital Statistics may be reached at (904) 359-6900, ext. 9006. Download and complete the form to mail in your request.
Fees: A 9.00 search fee is included in all orders and is NON-REFUNDABLE.
|$9||Search fee for one calendar year and one certified copy|
|$2||Search fee per calendar year when exact year is unknown (maximum fee $50.00)|
Walk-in: 1217 N Pearl Street, Jacksonville, FL 32202
Save day service is not available for the Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth. Walk-in payments may be made in the form of cash, check, money order, Visa, and Mastercard.
Mail-in: Florida Bureau of Vital Statistics, P.O. Box 210, Jacksonville, Fl 32231-0042
Normal processing time for the Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth is 5 to 7 business days not including shipping time to and from our office. Records prior to 2009 require additional processing time.
Rush orders are given priority processing and require an additional $10 fee. Mark the outside of your envelope "RUSH". All orders, including RUSH orders are mailed Standard U.S. Postal delivery unless a special prepaid delivery envelope is provided.
If you are unable to access our application forms, you may submit your request in writing. Please include the following information.
- Information about the person named on the certificate:
Full name on fetal death record
Date of delivery (if unknown, specify range of years to be searched and provide additional fee of $2.00 per calendar year)
Place of delivery (city or county)
- Information about you (or the person ordering the certificate):
Relationship to child on record
Signature of Applicant.
If you are a Funeral Director or an Attorney, please provide the name of the individual you represent and their relationship to the child on record, along with your professional license number.
- Payment: Check or money order payable to "Vital Statistics". DO NOT send cash. International payments must be made by Cashier’s Check or Money Order in U.S. Dollars drawn upon a U.S. Bank. Florida Law imposes an additional service charge of $15.00 for dishonored checks. Fees are nonrefundable, except fees paid for additional copies when no record is found. These are refunded upon written request.
Under Florida law, e-mail addresses are public records. If you do not want your e-mail address released in response to a public records request, do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact this office by phone or in writing.
Email to VitalStats@flhealth.gov