Skip Global navigation and goto content

It's a New Day in Public Health.

The Florida Department of Health works to protect, promote, and improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county, and community efforts.

Skip MegaMenu and goto content
Megamenu requires javascript to be enabled in your browser.


Florida Dept. of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics

Apostille Page Image

 Publications Page Image

The Bureau of Vital Statistics is Proudly PHAB Accredited

PHAB FLHealth Logo

How to order a Florida Death Certificate 

Who can request a Death Certificate?

WITHOUT CAUSE OF DEATH: Any person of legal age (18 or over) may apply for a certified copy of a death record without the cause of death. The first five digits of the decedent’s social security number will be redacted.

CAUSE OF DEATH INFORMATION:  Death records less than 50 years old with the cause of death and full social security number are confidential and may only be issued to:

  • Decedent’s spouse or parent;
  • Decedent’s child, grandchild or sibling, if of legal age;
  • Any person who provides a will, insurance policy or other document that demonstrates his or her interest in the estate;
  • Any person who provides documentation that he or she is acting on behalf of any of the above-named persons;
  • By Court Order


If applicant is not one of the above, the application must be accompanied by a notarized Affidavit to Release Cause of Death Information (DH Form 1959) signed by one of the above, along with any supporting documentation and a copy of valid photo ID of both the person authorizing release and the applicant.

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER (Section 119.071 Florida Statutes): Social security numbers held by the Department of Health on death certificates are confidential and will only be issued to an eligible party requesting a confidential record, regardless of the date of death. Therefore, the first five digits of the decedent’s social security number will be redacted when issuing a public record request.

Ordering a Florida Death Certificate 

Any person who willfully and knowingly provides any false information on a certificate, record or report required by Chapter 382, Florida Statutes, or on an application or affidavit, or who obtains confidential information from any Vital Record under false or fraudulent purposes, commits a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in Chapter 775, Florida Statutes.

Please note that limited deaths were recorded between 1877 and 1917


Click here to order online with a credit card from VitalChek® and have your certificates delivered right to your door.

VitalChek is the only contracted vendor for the Florida Bureau of Vital Statistics. We do not recommend using any other online vendor. The application process requires you to share personal information, so security and confidentiality is critical. We can only guarantee your privacy if you order through VitalChek.


$15Florida Bureau of Vital Statistics fee for the first certificate (includes $5.00 search fee for one calendar year + $10 rush fee). Please note: Some county health departments accept VitalChek orders, and county health department fees do vary.
$7VitalChek process fee to verify your identity, obtain ordering information and download your request directly to the Bureau of Vital Statistics.
$4Additional Certificates
$2Search fee per calendar year when exact year is unknown (maximum fee $50.00).

UPS shipping is available for an additional fee and requires signature upon delivery. Regular mail may be selected as a shipping method for no additional cost.

Click VitalChek® to start your online order or call VitalChek at 1-877-550-7330 to order by phone. If calling from outside the U.S., call 1-615-372-6800.


The Bureau of Vital Statistics offers walk-in or mail-in services. To save time, download and complete the forms you need. The Bureau of Vital Statistics may be reached at (904) 359-6900, ext. 9000.

DH727 Application for a Death Record (English PDF 55KB)

DH727S Application for a Death Record (Spanish PDF 71KB)

Fees:    A 5.00 search fee is included in all orders and is NON-REFUNDABLE.

$5Search fee for one calendar year and one certified copy
$4Additional certified copies
$2Search fee per calendar year when exact year is unknown (maximum fee $50.00)
$10Rush fee (required for records prior to 2009 for same day walk in service, when available)
$1Shipping and Handling Fee

Walk-in:  1217 N Pearl Street, Jacksonville, FL 32202
Lobby hours: M-F 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Walk-in payments may be made in the form of cash, check, money order, Visa, and Mastercard. 

Mail-in:  Florida Bureau of Vital Statistics, P.O. Box 210, Jacksonville, Fl 32231-0042

Normal processing time for death certificates from 2009 to present is 3 to 5 business days not including shipping time to and from our office. Records prior to 2009 require additional processing time.

Rush orders are given priority processing and require an additional $10 fee. Mark the outside of your envelope "RUSH". All orders, including RUSH orders are mailed Standard U.S. Postal delivery unless a special prepaid delivery envelope is provided.

If you are unable to access our application forms, you may submit your request in writing. Please include the following information along with a copy of your identification if requesting cause of death, payment, and any supporting documentation.

  • Information about the person named on the certificate:
Full name on death record
Date of death (if unknown, specify range of years to be searched and provide additional fee of $2.00 per calendar year)
Date of birth
City or County of death
Social Security number
  • Information about you (or the person ordering the certificate):
Full name
Relationship to decedent
Mailing address
Phone number
Signature of Applicant.
If you are a Funeral Director or an Attorney, please provide the name of the individual you represent and their relationship to the decedent, along with your professional license number.
  • Type of Certificate:
    • Death certificate without cause of death (public record)
    • Death certificate with cause of death (confidential for 50 years - VALID PHOTO IDENTIFICATION REQUIRED).
  • Payment:  Check or money order payable to "Vital Statistics". DO NOT send cash. International payments must be made by Cashier’s Check or Money Order in U.S. Dollars drawn upon a U.S. Bank. Florida Law imposes an additional service charge of $15.00 for dishonored checks. Fees are nonrefundable, except fees paid for additional copies when no record is found. These are refunded upon written request.


  • Photo Identification: Eligible applicant’s valid photo identification is required when cause of death is requested: Driver’s License, State Identification Card, Passport, Military Identification Card.

Mail-in or Walk-in to a local county health department in Florida for deaths occurring from 2009 to present only. Find a location near you, ordering information, and fees at Florida County Health Departments

Please Note: County Health Department fees vary.

Need information on deaths that occurred outside of Florida or the United States? 

For deaths that occurred outside of Florida, visit the National Center of Health Statistics website at

For deaths that occurred outside of the United States, visit the National Center for Health Statistics website at

Under Florida law, e-mail addresses are public records. If you do not want your e-mail address released in response to a public records request, do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact this office by phone or in writing.
Email to