Skip Global navigation and goto content

It's a New Day in Public Health.

The Florida Department of Health works to protect, promote, and improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county, and community efforts.

Skip MegaMenu and goto content
Megamenu requires javascript to be enabled in your browser.

Different Types of Lupus

Contact the Bureau of Chronic Disease Prevention

There are several forms of Lupus. Learn more about each type below.

  1. Systemic Lupus Erythematosus (SLE) is the most common and serious form of Lupus. SLE is an autoimmune disease in which the immune system attacks its own tissues and causes widespread inflammation and tissue damage in the affected areas. SLE affects the joints, skin, brain, lungs, kidneys, and blood vessels.

  2. Drug-Induced Lupus Erythematosus (DILE) is similar to SLE, but occurs as the result of an overreaction to certain medications. Symptoms usually occur 3 to 6 months after starting a medication, and disappear once the medicine is stopped.

  3. Cutaneous Lupus is Lupus that affects the skin in the form of a rash or lesions. This type of Lupus can occur on any part of the body, but usually appears where the skin is exposed to sunlight.

  4. Neonatal Lupus occurs when an infant passively acquires auto-antibodies from a mother with SLE. The skin, liver, and blood problems resolve by 6 months, but the most serious sign—congenital heart block—requires a pacemaker and has a mortality rate of about 20%.

For more information, please visit the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention website at