Skip Global navigation and goto content

It's a New Day in Public Health.

The Florida Department of Health works to protect, promote, and improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county, and community efforts.

Skip MegaMenu and goto content
Megamenu requires javascript to be enabled in your browser.

Florida Teens Help Lead Statewide Movement Against Tobacco

By Florida Department of Health, Office of Communications

October 27, 2014

October 27, 2014

Contact: Communications Office
(850) 245-4111

Students Working Against Tobacco Elect a New Board to Spearhead the Fight Against Tobacco

TALLAHASSEE—Students Working Against Tobacco (SWAT), the statewide youth-led movement, announced the names of its new Youth Advocacy Board members.

The Youth Advisory Board works in collaboration with the Florida Department of Health’s Bureau of Tobacco Free Florida to help plan the direction and goals of the SWAT organization and of the youth prevention component of the state’s tobacco control campaign. Students work with county grantees on a local level to support initiatives that educate others about tobacco use, help protect youth from tobacco, and strengthen local policies, especially those that protect the public from secondhand smoke.

“Youth advocates are the next generation of leaders in Florida and across the country,” said State Surgeon General and Secretary of Health Dr. John Armstrong. “These enthusiastic students work diligently with a passion to create positive change and raise awareness among their peers and community about the dangers of tobacco use.”

SWAT aims to empower, educate and equip Florida youth to revolt against Big Tobacco. SWAT is a movement of empowered youth working together to de-glamorize tobacco use. Their efforts aim to shape tobacco-free norms, make tobacco less desirable, less acceptable and less accessible.

The 2014–2015 members of SWAT’s Youth Advisory Board include:

  • Abriyah Campbell, Putnam County
  • Ben Damus, St. Johns County
  • Brandon Creek, Jefferson County
  • Evianna Gianoplus, Sarasota County
  • Daniel Knight, Martin County
  • Jalisa Bellamy, Washington County
  • Jordan Marlett, Levy County
  • Julia Osagie, Leon County
  • Lacey Napier, Polk County
  • Lydia Delcambre, Santa Rosa County
  • Mykenzie Robertson, Pasco County
  • Narrelle Gilchrist, Palm Beach County
  • Nicolas Suarez, St. Lucie County
  • Victoria Galvan, Seminole County
  • Victoria Todd, Lee County

Members of the SWAT Youth Advocacy Board will serve a term through June 30, 2015.

Tobacco Free Florida is a statewide cessation and prevention campaign funded by Florida's tobacco settlement fund. Tobacco Free Florida is managed by the Florida Department of Health, specifically the Bureau of Tobacco Free Florida.

Smokers and smokeless tobacco users interested in quitting are encouraged to use one of the 3 Free & Easy Ways to Quit. To learn about Tobacco Free Florida and the state's free cessation resources, visit or follow the campaign on Facebook at or Twitter at

The Department works to protect, promote and improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county and community efforts. During 2014, the Department is recognizing 125 years of public health in Florida with educational opportunities and events. Please visit for more information.


Additional Resources

Error processing SSI file