Skip Global navigation and goto content

It's a New Day in Public Health.

The Florida Department of Health works to protect, promote & improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county & community efforts.

Skip MegaMenu and goto content


Contact the Bureau of Chronic Disease Prevention

Council Appointments

The Diabetes Advisory Council is a legislatively mandated, multi-disciplinary group whose members are appointed by the Governor, pursuant to 385.203, F.S.

Applications for membership may be completed online.


Diabetes Advisory Council members represent sectors of the health system and the general population who have expertise, experience, and involvement in diabetes prevention and control.  Members serve four-year terms or until their successors are appointed by the governor.

Five Interested citizens, three of whom are affected by diabetes

Ms. Nancy Murphy


One member each from at least three of the medical schools in the state:

Jennifer B. Marks, MD
Immediate Past DAC Chair
University of Miami Medical School

Janet H. Silverstein, MD
DAC Chair
University of Florida Medical School

Laura B. Smith, PhD, MS
University of South Florida Medical School

Not more than 18 members and not more than one each from among the following areas:

Nursing with diabetes-educator certification
Ms. Donna Ryan

Dietary with diabetes educator certification
Ms. Bonnie L. Masterson, RD

Podiatric medicine
Melvin B. Price, DPM

Ophthalmology or optometry

Lisa M. Buckloh, PhD

Marlon S. Honeywell, PharmD

Adult endocrinology

Pediatric endocrinology
Mark Kummer, MD

American Diabetes Association (ADA)
Larry A. Fox, MD

American Association of Diabetes Educators (AADE)
Bridget Jennings

Juvenile Diabetes Foundation

Florida Academy of Family Physicians

Community health center

County health department
Leslene E. Gordon, PhD

ADA-recognized community education program
Mrs. Nina D. Clark, RN

Osteopathic medical school
Chet Evans, MS, DPM

Insurance industry
Donald S. Grossman, MD, FACP

Children's Medical Services Diabetes Regional Program
Dorothy I. Shulman, MD

Joseph Chebli, M.D.
DAC Chair-Elect 

One or more representatives from the Department of Health, who shall serve as ex officio members
Jennifer Wahby, MPH
Diabetes Prevention Program Manager
Bureau of Chronic Disease Prevention

Carmen Fabre-Pedrero
Diabetes Prevention Program Analyst 
Bureau of Chronic Disease Prevention

LaKera Reddick
Health System Administrator 
Bureau of Chronic Disease Prevention

Tara Hylton
Bureau of Chronic Disease Prevention