Skip Global navigation and goto content

It's a New Day in Public Health.

The Florida Department of Health works to protect, promote, and improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county, and community efforts.

Skip MegaMenu and goto content
Megamenu requires javascript to be enabled in your browser.


Contact: Florida Health

Council Appointments

The membership of the DPAC is nine high level state officials, seven members of the public appointed by the Governor, a member of the Senate, a member of the House of Representatives and a member of the judiciary.


State Surgeon General
Joseph A. Ladapo, MD, PhD

Governor's Office of Policy and Budget
Doug Simon

Attorney General
Ashley Moody

Executive Director, Department of Law Enforcement
Mark Glass

Secretary, Department of Children and Families
Shevaun Harris

Secretary, Department of Corrections
Ricky Dixon

Secretary, Department of Juvenile Justice
Eric Hall

Commissioner, Department of Education
Manny Diaz, Jr.

Executive Director, Department of Highway Safety and Motor  Vehicles
Dave Kerner

Adjutant General of the state as the Chief of the Department of Military Affairs
Major General John D. Haas

Governor Appointee: Substance Abuse Treatment
Melanie Brown-Woofter
Term Ends: 9/6/2023

Governor Appointee: Drug Enforcement
Sheriff Peyton Grinnell
Term Ends: 9/6/2023

Governor Appointee: Substance Abuse Prevention
Peggy Sapp
Term Ends: 9/6/2017

Governor Appointee: Faith-Based Substance Abuse Treatment
Dean Inserra
Term Ends:9/6/2025

Governor Appointee: Faith-Based Substance Abuse Treatment
Rabbi Meir Kessler
Term Ends: 9/6/2025

Governor Appointee: Expertise in Drug Enforcement and Substance Abuse Services
Sheriff Chris Nocco
Term Ends: 9/6/2025

Governor Appointee: Expertise in Drug Enforcement and Substance Abuse Services
Sheriff Chad Chronister
Term Ends: 9/6/2023

President of Senate appoints Member of Senate
Senator Darryl Rouson
Term Ends:11/5/2024

Speaker of the House appoints Member of House of Representatives
Representative Spencer Roach
Term Ends: 5/20/2023

Chief Justice of the Supreme Court appoints member of the Judiciary
Judge Steve Leifman
Term Ends: 9/28/2024