It's a New Day in Public Health.
The Florida Department of Health works to protect, promote, and improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county, and community efforts.
Florida Dept. of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics
How to order a Florida Certificate of Nonviable Birth
In 2017, the Florida Legislature established a new certificate entitled Certificate of Nonviable Birth (Section 382.0086, Florida Statutes).
A “nonviable birth” means an unintentional, spontaneous fetal demise occurring between the 10th through the 19th week of gestation.
Parent(s) may contact their health care practitioner to request a Certificate of Nonviable Birth be filed for a spontaneous fetal demise occurring between the 10th through the 19th week of gestation. Once filed, a certification of the record may be ordered from the Bureau of Vital Statistics.
A Certificate of Nonviable Birth is not proof of live birth and may not be used for any official purposes.
An informational brochure is available for health care practitioners to provide to parents.
Who can request a Certificate of Nonviable Birth?
Certificates of Nonviable Birth are public record and may be issued to any applicant of legal age (18). Parentage information is confidential and only available to the parent(s) listed on the record providing valid identification.
Ordering a Florida Certificate of Nonviable Birth
- ORDER BY MAIL FROM FLORIDA BUREAU OF VITAL STATISTICS
The Bureau of Vital Statistics may be reached at (904) 359-6900, ext. 9006. Download and complete the form to mail in your request.
DH 8002-HSPM Application for Certificate of Nonviable Birth
Fees: A 9.00 search fee is included in all orders and is NON-REFUNDABLE.
|$9||Search fee for one calendar year and one certified copy|
|$2||Search fee per calendar year when exact year is unknown (maximum fee $50.00)|
Walk-in: 1217 N Pearl Street, Jacksonville, FL 32202
Mail-in: Florida Bureau of Vital Statistics, P.O. Box 210, Jacksonville, Fl 32231-0042
Normal processing time for the Certificate of Nonviable Birth is 5 to 7 business days not including shipping time to and from our office.
Rush orders are given priority processing and require an additional $10 fee. Mark the outside of your envelope "RUSH". All orders, including RUSH orders are mailed Standard U.S. Postal delivery unless a special prepaid delivery envelope is provided.
If you are unable to access our application forms, you may submit your request in writing. Please include the following information.
- Information about the person named on the certificate:
Full name of child
Date of nonviable birth (if unknown, specify range of years to be searched and provide additional fee of $2.00 per calendar year)
County of nonviable birth
Mother’s/Parent’s full name
Father’s/Parent’s full name
- Information about you (or the person ordering the certificate):
Relationship to child on record
Signature of Applicant.
If you are a Funeral Director or an Attorney, please provide the name of the individual you represent and their relationship to the child on record, along with your professional license number.
- Payment: Check or money order payable to "Vital Statistics". DO NOT send cash. International payments must be made by Cashier’s Check or Money Order in U.S. Dollars drawn upon a U.S. Bank. Florida Law imposes an additional service charge of $15.00 for dishonored checks. Fees are nonrefundable, except fees paid for additional copies when no record is found. These are refunded upon written request.
Under Florida law, e-mail addresses are public records. If you do not want your e-mail address released in response to a public records request, do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact this office by phone or in writing.
Email to VitalStats@flhealth.gov
Connect with DOH