Skip Global navigation and goto content

It's a New Day in Public Health.

The Florida Department of Health works to protect, promote, and improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county, and community efforts.

Skip MegaMenu and goto content
Megamenu requires javascript to be enabled in your browser.

Recipients of 2015 Excellence in Emergency Medical Service Awards Honored

By Florida Department of Health, Office of Communications

July 08, 2015

July 8, 2015

Contact: Communications Office
(850) 245-4111


TALLAHASSEE—The Florida Department of Health’s Emergency Medical Services (EMS) section is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2015 Excellence in EMS Awards. For 25 years, the EMS section has honored outstanding Florida EMS organizations and individuals who make a positive impact on local EMS throughout the state.

“I am pleased to recognize the efforts of Florida’s EMS professionals who work tirelessly to save lives every day through state-of-the-art pre-hospital care,” said State Surgeon General and Secretary of Health Dr. John Armstrong. “Congratulations to the statewide EMS award recipients for demonstrating service excellence and teamwork in their communities.” 

The 2015 statewide EMS awards are sponsored by the Emergency Medicine Learning and Resource Center (EMLRC), an Orlando-based learning consortium. Awards will be presented this evening in Orlando in conjunction with State EMS Advisory Council meetings and the EMLRC’s 41st Annual Clinical Conference on Emergency Medical Services. The following is a list of the 2015 award recipients.

EMS Provider of the Year: Brevard County Fire Rescue

Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) of the Year: Tsambika (Sam) Aysh, Sunstar Paramedics

Paramedic of the Year:David Torsell, Alachua County Fire Rescue

EMS Nurse of the Year:Sara Webb, Sunstar Paramedics

Larry S. Jordan EMS Hall of Fame:Cory Richter, Indian River Fire Rescue

Marilyn Crook EMS Pioneer:Daniel McNeil, Sunrise Fire Rescue Department

Friend to EMS:Rick Leary, County Administrator, Putnam County

Raymond H. Alexander, MD, EMS Medical Director of the Year:J. Bracken Burns, Jr., D.O., Medical Director for TraumaOne Flight Services at UF Health Jacksonville

911 Public Safety Telecommunicator of the Year:Jeanne Shadaram, Lee County PST

EMS Educator of the Year:David Schmitt, Health First Training Center

Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC):Rosanne Conliffe, Shands at UF

Video of the Year:Sunstar Paramedics

Photo of the Year:Lifeguard Ambulance

For more information about the Excellence in Emergency Medical Services award program, please visit


The department works to protect, promote and improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county and community efforts.

Follow us on Twitter at @HealthyFla and on Facebook. For more information about the Florida Department of Health please visit

Error processing SSI file