skip to sub-navigation skip to content

It's a New Day in Public Health.

The Florida Department of Health works to protect, promote & improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county, & community efforts.

skip to sub-navigation skip to content
 

Florida Dept. of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics

The State of Florida issues a commemorative birth certificate, signed by the current Governor and State Registrar of Vital Statistics. The certificate contains calligraphy style printing, gold embossed state seal, and is suitable for framing and preserving as a family heirloom, but not to be intended as proof of birth. The commemorative certificate is mailed encased in cardboard shields to ensure protection.

 The birth certificate may be issued only to a child named on the certificate, if 18 years of age or older, or to a listed parent or guardian. A copy of a valid photo ID must be submitted.  To order a commemorative birth certificate as a gift: In accordance with Florida law, the certificate can only be issued to an authorized person: parent listed on record; registrant, if of legal age; legal guardian; or legal representative of any of these. If you are not an authorized person, you must provide a notarized affidavit from an authorized person, authorizing you as the named individual, to obtain the commemorative certificate.  You must present a copy of a valid photo ID of the person authorizing the release AS WELL as a valid ID of the person obtaining the certificate. Examples of valid photo IDs include Driver license, state ID, Passport or military/dependent's ID. A photocopy of the required ID will be accepted verifying that you are, in fact, that named individual shown on the affidavit to obtain the birth certificate. 

Include a check or money order for $34.00 made payable to the "Vital Statistics".

The fee covers the search for the record, one computer certification, one commemorative certificate, and mailing.

If the birth record is not located, a certified "No Record Found" statement of that fact is issued along with a form to request a $25.00 refund. The $9.00 search fee is not refundable.

Send both the order form and the fee to:

Bureau of Vital Statistics
Attn: Vital Records Section
Post Office Box 210 (1217 North Pearl Street  Zip 32202)
Jacksonville, FL 32231-0042

Allow 4 - 6 weeks for delivery.

DH 726 Application for Commemorative Birth Certificate (pdf 123K)


DH 1958 Affidavit to Release a Birth Certificate (pdf 88K)

To see examples of our commemorative certificates, click on the links below;

Regular Certificate Birth  Beach Certificate Birth

Palm Certificate Birth