Ordering a Florida Death Certificate
If the death did not occur in Florida, please go to the following link to order certificates from other states: www.cdc.gov/nchs/w2w.htm
For information on deaths that occurred outside of the United States, visit the National Center for Health Statistics for details.
Need information on Apostilles?
The Bureau of Vital Statistics is committed to providing the highest quality and most expeditious service possible. Computer generated certifications ordered by mail with a check or money order for death records (2007 - present) are processed within 2 to 3 days after receiving the order.
Photocopies in lieu of computer certifications or for years of events prior to those above are processed within approximately 5 days. These response times may vary based on any special circumstances. The Bureau accepts orders Monday through Friday, 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM Eastern Standard time, in person at the state office in Jacksonville, Florida. Payments may be in the form of cash, check, money order or Visa and Mastercard.
Credit cards are only accepted in person at the county vital statistics office and the state office in Jacksonville.
If you wish to order with from home with a credit card, the Bureau uses the VitalChek® network as our ONLY contracted vendor to accept orders billed to a credit card. Go to the VitalChek® website or speak with a customer representative at 1-877-550-7330. If you are calling from outside of the United States, call 877-550-6800. If you should experience problems with the online ordering, please call VitalChek® for assistance. If you elect UPS as a method of delivery for a certificate with cause of death, a signature will be required.
If you elect to use another vendor: There are many other vendors on the Internet. If you elect to use another vendor, you will pay an additional fee to that vendor without receiving any additional services.The Bureau has no control over what services and fees other Internet vendors offer and charge, nor can we guarantee the confidentiality of any vital record data provided to vendors other than VitalChek®. If you have ordered through another vendor and have experienced a problem in obtaining the record ordered, you will need to contact that vendor directly. If you believe an Internet vendor's website provides inaccurate information about service or fees, you may wish to consider reporting to the State Attorney's office OR a consumer protection agency in the state where the vendor is located.
Only those individuals authorized to receive cause of death information are eligible to request and receive the document. Misrepresenting an identity, your relationship or who you represent, or assuming the identity of another person is subject to criminal penalties as defined in s. 382.026, Florida Statutes. The penalties for such a felony may be imprisonment not to exceed 5 years or a fine of $5,000 or both.
-Please note that limited Florida deaths were recorded between 1877 and 1917
DH727 Application for a Death Record (English PDF 55KB)
DH726S Application for a Death Record (Spanish PDF 71KB)
DH727H Application for a Death Record (Creole PDF 67 KB)
Please read the instructions below before completing the Death Certificate Application. When ordering from a county office, contact that county's vital statistics office for fee information and the related county application. Need information on Apostilles?
WHEN ORDERING FROM THE STATE OFFICE BY MAIL:
Applications are accepted in person or by mail at the State Bureau of Vital Statistics
If submitting by mail, the individual signing letters of request, or applications, must be eligible to receive the death certificate (see below) and include a copy of a valid photo ID (driver's license, state identification card, passport and/or military identification card) of the APPLICANT, if requesting a certificate with cause-of-death.
DO NOT SEND ORIGINAL DOCUMENTS
Step 1 - Determine your eligibility to receive a death certificate.
In Florida, anyone may order a Florida Death Certificate "Without cause of death".
A Florida Death Certificate "With Cause of Death" is confidential by Florida Law and may only be issued to:
-The decedent's spouse, parent, child, grandchild, or sibling (if 18 years of age or older).
-Any person who provides a "Will" that has been executed pursuant to state statute 732.502; an insurance policy or other document that demonstrates his or her interest in the estate of the decedent;
-Any person who provides documentation that he or she is acting on behalf of any of the previously mentioned persons.
Fifty (50) years following the date of death, "Cause of death" becomes public information and anyone may obtain a Death Certificate with this information. Any time period prior to the fifty years, "cause of death" is considered confidential by Florida law.
Requesting cause of death information
By law, death certificates with "Cause of Death" information can only be issued to:
- The decedent's spouse
- A parent
- A child of the decedent (if of legal age)
- A grandchild of the decedent
- A sibling
- Any person who provides a will, insurance policy or other document demonstrating their interest in the estate of the decedent
- Any person who provides documentation that he or she is acting on the behalf of any of the before named persons.
- By court order directing Vital Statistics to issue a death record to a specific individual.
Step 2 Provide information about the person named on the certificate.
- Full name of the deceased person
- Date of death (month, day, year or series of years to be searched)
- City or County of death
- Social Security number, if known
Step 3 Provide information about the person ordering the certificate
- Full name
- Relationship to decedent (if requesting cause of death)
- Mailing address
- Phone number where you can be reached during business hours Monday thru Friday from 8:00am to 5:00pm Eastern Time.
- Funeral Director or Attorney's professional license number, if they are ordering the certificate.
- Signature of Applicant
Letters or applications must include a copy of a valid PICTURE ID, which is required for death certificates with cause of death. If legal guardian, please include notarized guardianship documents.
DO NOT SEND ORIGINAL DOCUMENTS.
Step 4 Type of Certificate
- A certified copy of the Electronic Death Record or Photocopy of an original paper record with embossed seal of Florida.
- Electronically Registered or Photocopy certification $5.00 ea.
- Additional copies $4.00 ea. when ordered at the same time as the first copy.
Bureau of Vital Statistics (Physical location)
1217 N Pearl St
Jacksonville, FL 32202
N30° 20.2614', W081° 39.5608'
Step 5 Delivery Method
Note: The Vital Statistics processing time does not include postal transit time to and from our office. We cannot predict how long the mail/courier will take. All orders are mailed Standard U.S. Postal delivery unless a self-addressed, stamped or prepaid special delivery envelope is provided.
$10.00 (In addition to the purchase price) For Rush delivery please mark your request "RUSH".
Certificates are sent via U.S. Mail unless a self-addressed, stamped or prepaid special delivery envelope is provided.
$10 Rush Fee AND you must provide a pre-paid express delivery envelope. Express service is available only if a pre-paid express delivery envelope has been provided and the $10.00 RUSH Fee is paid. A signature is required upon delivery. 1-2 business days for processing.
Step 6 Type of payment accepted
Make your Check or money order payable to "Vital Statistics". DO NOT send cash.
In Person at the Bureau of Vital Statistics
Cash, checks, money orders, Visa and MasterCard are accepted.
Mail or deliver your request and payment in the form of check or money order to the Bureau of Vital Statistics. Orders cannot be placed through our website
Bureau of Vital Statistics
Attn: Vital Records Section
P.O. Box 210
Jacksonville, FL 32231-0042
In person go to:
Lobby hours: M-F 8:00-4:30 Eastern Standard Time
(904) 359-6900 M-F 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM (Eastern Standard Time)
Under Florida law, e-mail addresses are public records. If you do not want your e-mail address released in response to a public records request, do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact this office by phone or in writing.
Email to VitalStats@doh.state.fl.us