Providers and Professionals
TB Control Section
Florida Department of Health
4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin A-20
Tallahassee, Florida 32399
This page lists the tools of knowledge providers and professionals need to aid the Department of Health in its endeavor to control TB. If a resource you need cannot be found here, please contact us at 850-245-4350.
Special note: You will need Adobe Acrobat's FREE PDF Reader to view the pages labeled PDF. Get it for FREE from Adobe by visiting www.adobe.com
TB Laws and Rules
Florida State Statutes – Tuberculosis Control Act, Chapter 392 (pdf 75 kb)
Florida Administrative Code – Control of Communicable Diseases and Conditions Which May Significantly Affect Public Health, Chapter 64D-3
Florida law requires the Department of Health to periodically issue a list of diseases determined to be of public health significance and that are required to be reported to the county health departments. Note some diseases have to be reported immediately by telephone as noted by a (T) next to their name in this Reportable Diseases List (pdf 72 kb).
TB Reporting Requirements for Health Care Providers – by law health care providers are required to report TB cases and suspects within one business day of diagnosis, and must provide supporting documentation for the diagnosis within 72 hours. Learn more about who must report, what information must be reported, how to report, and follow-up reporting requirements…
TB Reporting Requirements for Laboratories – each person in charge of a laboratory which performs cultures for mycobacteria or refers specimens for mycobacterial cultures to other laboratories is required to report all specimens positive for Mycobacterium tuberculosis, M. bovis or M. africanum within 72 hours. For further details on what information must be reported, how to report and list of numbers in your area for reporting…
TB Report & Treatment Form (pdf 78 kb) – this form is used by the department to follow-up with healthcare professionals in regards to patient reporting and treatment.
Note to County Health Departments: forms for reporting to departmental headquarters can be found on the department's Intranet.
- Prevention and Control of Tuberculosis in Florida Short-Term Correctional Facilities (pdf 56 kb).
- MMWR- Prevention & Control of Tuberculosis in Correctional Facilities.
- TB Case & Suspect Reporting Form (pdf 184 kb) – this form is for correctional and detention facilities to report a confirmed or suspected case of tuberculosis.
- TB Contact Reporting Requirements (pdf 29 kb) – this form is for correctional and detention facilities to report people who have come in contact with a confirmed or suspected case of tuberculosis.
- TB Contact Investigation Evaluation Summary (pdf 73 kb) – this form is used to evaluate the completeness of contact investigations conducted by the Department’s Public Health System Partners (e.g., Florida Department of Corrections and other correctional healthcare entities). This form is not required if a local health department led the investigation, evaluated the contacts, and recorded the data.
The educational materials we have for professionals are moderately extensive. A materials list may before on our Professional Materials page.