911 Public Safety Telecommunicator Program
Candidates may begin registering for computer based testing September 21, 2015. Please use the link below to register for your exam at a Prometric testing center. Remember, exam fees are required to be paid at the time of registration. Testers must review the Candidate Information Booklet (CIB) for information prior to taking the exam. The CIB contains important information on requirements for the day of the test, rescheduling, and missed appointments.
Please begin using the new exam applications and the new Initial/Original Certificate Application (form DH5066). Submission of incorrect applications will greatly delay processing.
**Please continue to check the 'Notifications and Announcements' link below for the most up-to-date information as this transition moves forward.**
To obtain initial certification as a Florida public safety telecommunicator (PST), an individual must
- Complete a Department approved PST training program as defined in §401.465(1)(c), Florida Statutes. A copy of the certificate of completion received from the training program is submitted with the exam application
Provide proof of employment as a PST or state-certified firefighter prior to April 1, 2012.
Proof of employment is documented on the exam application.
- Pass the state's PST exam.
- Submit Form DH 5066, Initial/Original Certification Application
To be approved to take the state exam, an individual must submit to the Department an exam application with appropriate documentation. Applicants will receive an approval to test letter containing a unique ID number which will be used for exam registration as well as check-in at the testing center. Exam registration is done through Prometric, Inc. Exam fees are required at the time of registration.
Sworn state-certified law enforcement officers (LEO) testing under the exemption pursuant to Section 401.465(2)(j), Florida Statutes, must submit the new Exam Application for LEO exemption.
The requirement for certification as a 911 PST is waived for a person employed as a sworn state-certified law enforcement officer, provided the officer:
a. Is selected by his or her chief executive to perform as a 911 PST;
b.Performs as a 911 PST on an occasional or limited basis; AND
c.Passes the Department's PST examination
The examination fee is waived for sworn state-certified law enforcement officers who wish to take the examination under this exemption. Sworn state-certified law enforcement officers who wish to take the examination under this exemption must complete a training program prior to re-taking the exam. This training must be completed prior to each exam re-attempt.
Sworn state-certified law enforcement officers that wish to be employed as a PST must obtain PST certification prior to performing as such. Sworn state-certified LEO may obtain PST certification by following the initial certification requirements as outlined above.
Renewal of Certification
To be eligible for renewal certification, the certificate holder must complete 20 hours of renewal training and submit Form DH 5068, Renewal/Change of Status Application. The 20 hours of renewal training must be based on the Department of Education's Public Safety Telecommunicator Curriculum Framework.
All PST certifications expire February 1st of every odd year. Certificate holders must complete 20 hours of renewal training prior to applying for renewal. Certifications that are not renewed by the expiration date automatically expire and revert to involuntary inactive status for a period that may not exceed 180 days. Such certificates may be renewed with-in the 180-day period, provided the certificate holder meets the renewal requirements (20 hours of renewal training, application and fee) and pays a $50 late fee. Certificate holders that do not renew by the end of the 180-day period must complete initial certification requirements to again obtain certification.
Training programs must follow the Department of Education's Public Safety Telecommunication Curriculum Framework. , and consist of not less than 232 hours. Agencies/schools wishing to become a Department approved training program shall submit Form DH 5067, 911 Public Safety Telecommunicator Training Program Application with supporting attachments. The training program application should be carefully reviewed. Information on what is required to be included with the application, definition of specific terms, and time-frames are all included on the application.
- Exam Fee - $75
- Initial Certification Application Fee - $50
- Renewal Certification Application Fee - $50
- Late Renewal/Reactivation Fee - $50 (in addition to the renewal fee)
- Reactivation Fee (from voluntary inactive status) - $50
- Replacement Card Fee - $25
- Name Change Fee - $25
- Public Safety Telecommunication Training Program Application - $50
Under Florida Law, e-mail addresses are public records. If you do not want your e-mail address released in response to a public records request, do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact this office by phone or in writing.
If you need assistance or have questions regarding 911 Public Safety Telecommunications, please contact the 911 Public Safety Telecommunicator Program staff by email, or at: (850) 245-4440.
To view, print or edit some of the files in this section may require Adobe Acrobat. Download a free version of Adobe Acrobat Reader.