skip to content

It's a New Day in Public Health.

The Florida Department of Health works to protect, promote & improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county, & community efforts.

skip to content

Licensing EMS Provider

Contact the Florida Department of Health

Emergency Medical Services


Florida has two levels of certification for prehospital providers: Emergency Medical Technician and Paramedic.

Students are trained to a national standard to enter the workforce as an entry level provider.

Notice to Paramedic Students!

Students that enter a paramedic program after January 1, 2013 that is not accredited by the Committee on Accreditation of Educational Programs for the Emergency Medical Services Professions (CoAEMSP), or in the Letter of Review (LoR) process will be considered "state recognized" only.  They will no longer be eligible for national EMS certification or reciprocity in states that require national EMS program accreditation.

Requirements of Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Educational Programs

Initial Educational and Continuing Education Programs

Useful Links

To view, print or edit some of the files on this page may require Adobe Acrobat.  Download a free version of Adobe Acrobat Reader.