skip to sub-navigation skip to content

It's a New Day in Public Health.

The Florida Department of Health works to protect, promote & improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county, & community efforts.

skip to sub-navigation skip to content
 

Q:

Must I take a domestic violence course for initial licensure?

A:

No. Domestic Violence is not required for initial licensure. However, it is mandated by statute that two-hour (2) Domestic Violence course must be completed for every third (3rd) biennial license renewal. 

Q:

Must I take the prevention of medical errors course prior to licensure?

A:

Yes, the Prevention of Medical Errors course is required prior licensure. The application will be considered incomplete until the Prevention of Medical Errors requirement is met.

Q:

Is the prevention of medical errors course required for renewal?

A:

Yes, the medical errors course is required for renewal. 

Q:

What examination is required for licensure?

A:

The examination that is required for licensure is the PRAXIS II School Psychology exam given by Educational Testing Service (ETS). The exam code is 10401. The destination code for this office is R7114.

Q:

What is Florida’s passing score for the exam?

A:

The minimum passing score is 165 as determined by the National Association for School Psychology (NASP) and Educational Testing Service (ETS).

Q:

What supervision is required for licensure?

A:

Successful completion of three years of school psychology experience:

  • One (1) year of experience consists of 1500 hours within twelve (12) consecutive months.
  • Two (2) years of the three (3) year requirement shall consist of supervised experience.
  • All supervised experience shall be performed by a certified or licensed school psychologist in any jurisdiction or a licensed psychologist.
  • The third year can consist of general experience
  • Doctoral internships may be applied toward the supervision requirement. Non-doctoral internships, which are part of the education requirement, do not count toward the supervised or general experience requirement.

Q:

When is a course worksheet required?

A:

A course worksheet is required if you did not obtain a master’s or higher degree in school psychology. Refer to 64B21-500.009, F.A.C. for assistance when completing this form.

Q:

How can I transfer my school psychology license to Florida from another state in which I hold school psychology licensure?

A:

You cannot transfer a license from another state to Florida.

Q:

I am licensed in another state(s). Does that mean I should apply for licensure by endorsement?

A:

You are not required to use this method if licensed in another state. However, this option may be used if you hold an active, valid license as a school psychologist in another state, provided that when such license was secured, the requirements were substantially equivalent to or more stringent than those in Florida at that time; and if no Florida law existed at that time, then the requirements in the other state must have been substantially equivalent to or more stringent that those currently required by Florida Statutes. Your personal qualifications are not considered when applying by this method. The Program Administrator makes the determination of eligibility for licensure solely on the law-to-law comparison. Please see Section 490.006, Florida Statutes.

Q:

If I take more than the required 30 hours of continuing education during one biennium, may I count the excess toward the next biennium?

A:

No. All hours must be completed within the 24 months of the license biennium.

Q:

If I place my license on inactive status, am I exempt from the continuing education requirements?

A:

You are not required to obtain continuing education to place or maintain your license on inactive status. However, to reactivate an inactive license, you will be required to show evidence of participation in fifteen (15) hours of approved continuing education for each year the license was on inactive status and thirty (30) hours of approved continuing education for the last biennium in which the license held an active status. Contact the Office of School Psychology at (850) 245-4373.

Q:

How can I file a complaint against a licensee?

A:

You may print the Complaint Form from our website or call (850) 488-0595 or (850) 414-1976 to request one by mail.

To file a complaint on a non-medical related business or profession, please visit the Department of Business and Professional Regulation.