skip to content

It's a New Day in Public Health.

The Florida Department of Health works to protect, promote & improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county, & community efforts.

skip to content

Licensing

Council on Radiation Protection

Licensure by Exam
Per s. 468.304, F.S., applicants desiring certification through examination must submit a completed application for Certified Radiologic Technologist or Basic X-Ray Machine Operator along with the required fee; be at least 18 years of age at the time of application; be of good moral character; and General Radiographers, Nuclear Medicine Technologists, and Radiation Therapists must have successfully completed a two year accredited Radiologic Technology Program. All examinations are computer based.

ARRTs Exam Content

Completion of an educational program is not currently required for Basic X-ray Machine Operators; however, any applicant not completing a program must review the examination study guide or a substantial equivalent.

Once the applicant has fulfilled the application requirements for certification through examination, they will be placed in an awaiting examination status. The test administrator will contact the exam candidate and forward instructions for examination scheduling. Examination Scheduling: www.staterhc.org

Licensure by Endorsement
Per s. 468.3065, F.S., certification by endorsement may be issued to an applicant that submits a completed application, remits the appropriate fee, and can demonstrate that they hold a current certificate, license, or registration to practice Radiologic Technology in another jurisdiction. However, the requirements of all such certificates, licenses or registrations to practice Radiologic Technology must be substantially equivalent (in the department’s opinion) to those required in Florida, including graduation from an approved educational or training program. Applicants who are graduates of such approved programs and who hold current ARRT or NMTCB licensure in those subject areas are considered substantially equivalent. "Alternative Eligibility" is not an approved educational or training program

Applicants must submit complete documentation of past criminal convictions or professional disciplinary actions, and must not have committed a crime listed in s. 435.03 F.S., or similar statute in another state.

Fees
Fees must be submitted with your application and request for exam scheduling. Fees are payable to Department of Health or Medical Quality Assurance (MQA). Application fees are non-refundable. A money order or cashier's check should be submitted.

By Exam:

Application Fee

$50.00

Exam Fee

$125.00 exam fee for BMXO to the ARRT

$140.00 exam fee for GR, NMT, RTT to the ARRT

Re-Exam:

Application Fee

$35.00

Exam Fee

$125.00 exam fee for BMXO to the ARRT

$140.00 exam fee for GR, NMT, RTT to the ARRT

By Endorsement:

Application Fee

$45.00


Make checks or money order payable to the "Department of Health." Applicants and licensees are responsible for the fees outlined in applicable board or department rule at the time an application is received.

Exemptions Related to Background Screenings:
Background screening for employment purposes may be required depending on place of employment. It is the responsibility of the employer to meet this requirement. When this screening is required, it is pursuant to Florida Statute 435. This Chapter outlines certain offenses which will disqualify licensees from employment unless an exemption is granted by the Department of Health.

The licensee may apply for an exemption. This is a request for the Department of Health to review the applicant's total background to determine if an exemption can be granted.

The licensee must provide the following information when requesting an exemption:

  1. Brief, typed self-explanation of the events
  2. Request for Exemption Application from the Agency for Health Care Administration
  3. Criminal History Check (FDLE report)
  4. Employment History
  5. Rehabilitation History
  6. Reference Letters
  7. Probation Notice and anything that the applicant feels pertinent to the review.

Exemption Applications for Radiology Professions should be mailed to the address below:

Florida Department of Health
Rad Tech Certification Office
4052 Bald Cypress Way BIN C85
Tallahassee, FL 32399-3285