It's a New Day in Public Health.
The Florida Department of Health works to protect, promote & improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county & community efforts.
How to order a Florida Commemorative Birth Certificate
A commemorative certificate is signed by the current Governor and the State Registrar of the Bureau of Vital Statistics. The certificate is suitable for framing and preserving as a family heirloom. A Commemorative certificate is not acceptable for official purposes.
Please note limited births were recorded between 1850 and 1917. Time of Birth was not collected on birth events between 1949-1969.
To view samples of our commemorative certificates, click on the links below;
Regular Certificate Birth (191K pdf)
Beach Certificate Birth (135K pdf)
Palm Certificate Birth (139K pdf)
Who can request a commemorative birth certificate?
Births less than 100 years old are confidential and may only be issued to:
- Registrant (name on the record) if of legal age (18)
- Parent(s) listed on the Birth Record
- Legal guardian (must provide guardianship papers)
- Legal representative of one of the above persons (must provide documentation)
- By Court Order (must provide copy of court order)
- Upon receipt of registrant’s death record, a commemorative birth certificate marked “Deceased” on the back may be issued to the spouse, child, grandchild, or sibling, if of legal age.
VALID PHOTO IDENTIFICATION IS REQUIRED WHEN REQUESTING A COMMEMORATIVE BIRTH RECORD.
If applicant is not one of the above, the application must be accompanied with a notarized Affidavit to Release a Birth Certificate (DH Form 1958) signed by one of the above, along with any supporting documentation and a copy of valid photo ID of both the person authorizing release and the applicant.
Ordering a Commemorative Birth Certificate
Any person who willfully and knowingly provides any false information on a certificate, record or report required by Chapter 382, Florida Statutes, or on an application or affidavit, or who obtains confidential information from any Vital Record under false or fraudulent purposes, commits a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in Chapter 775, Florida Statutes.
- ORDER BY MAIL FROM FLORIDA BUREAU OF VITAL STATISTICS
The Bureau of Vital Statistics may be reached at (904) 359-6900, ext. 9000. Download and complete the form to mail in your request.
Fees: A 9.00 search fee is included in all orders and is NON-REFUNDABLE. If no record is found a certified “No Record Found” statement will be issued.
|$34||First commemorative certificate (includes one computer-generated certification)|
|$25||Additional commemorative certificates|
|$4||Additional computer-generated certifications|
Mail-in: Florida Bureau of Vital Statistics, P.O. Box 210, Jacksonville, Fl 32231-0042
Under Florida law, e-mail addresses are public records. If you do not want your e-mail address released in response to a public records request, do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact this office by phone or in writing.
Email to VitalStats@flhealth.gov