I’m Certified, Now What?
Once an individual is certified, they are required to obtain 24 Continuing Educational Hours (CEH) or Contact Hours (CH) of training, during a two-year cycle, for each primary program area for which they are certified. CEH’s are provided by a variety of trainings related to the environmental health subject area, which are offered by a wide variety of sponsor groups and government entities through training and conference opportunities. CEH’s can be obtained by participating in person training presentations, by completing online educational courses, and some environmental health journals with specific article quizzes for their members.
Contact Hours for CEHP Renewal
Are you looking for Contact Hours in Environmental Health to Renew your credential? Are you ready to renew and want to make sure your contact hours are approved for the courses you attended or plan to attend/complete? If so, please review the listing of Continuing Education Courses for the 2019-2021 renewal cycle CEHP CEH Trainings 2019-2021 Cycle, updated 12/13/2019.
How to Apply for CEHP Renewal
As per the requirements of Section 381.0101, Florida Statutes and Rule 64E-18, Florida Administrative Code, your Environmental Health Professional Certification for Onsite Sewage and/or Food Safety and Sanitation, will expire September 30, 2021.
If you desire to renew your certification and are a DOH Employee, you will be required to renew your certification by completing and submitting a Renewal Application DH Form 4101 and proof of obtaining 24 educational hours of training. This form and supporting documents must now be submitted electronically ONLINE. The new online system will allow applicants to submit all required documents. For an Informational Training on how to use and access the new system, please click here.
If you desire to renew your certification and are not a DOH Employee, you will be required to renew your certification by completing and submitting a Renewal Application DH Form 4101, proof of Professional Engineer status or 24 hours of continuing education (if not a PE) and the renewal fee (if not a PE). All contact from our office will be sent via e-mail, so if your work or personal e-mail changes, please be sure to send Michael Lawhorn or Andrea Ables an update. When the time comes, you may access the renewal form using the following link: Application for Renewal of CEHP
Mail completed packet, with the required documentation and appropriate fees, to the address below:
Department of Health, Facility Programs Section
4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin A08
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-1710
Attention: Certified Environmental Health Professional (CEHP)
If you require more information you may visit the informational site at: CEHP Informational Site
If you are renewing your CEHP for the first time, the amount of required Contac Hours for renewal may be prorated depending upon when you were initially certified. The following is an example of prorating of Contact Hours for first-time CEHP Renewals:
If you were initially certified before October 1, 2019
24 hours are required per program area for renewal
If you were initially certified between October 1, 2019 and March 31, 2020
24 hours are required per program area for renewal
If you were initially certified between April 1, 2020 and September 30, 2020
18 hours are required per program area
If you were initially certified between October 1, 2020 and March 31, 2021
12 hours are required per program area
If you were initially certified between April 1, 2021 and September 30, 2021
6 hours are required per program area
You may count training received within the semi-annual period in which your certification began. For example, if you became certified in February of 2018, you could count any training received within the six-month pro-ration period October 2017 through March 2018 and through to September 30, 2019. Remember, your prerequisite courses can count towards your continuing educational hours for your first renewal.
Your renewal will be processed and a certificate returned to you as quickly as possible via e-mail.
All renewal applications and payments must be postmarked no later than the close of business on September 30, 2021.
How Are Contact Hours/Continuing Educational Units (CEUs) Determined?
- An itemized agenda must be submitted to the program office 30 days in advance of the training/education and reviewed by the Certification Program Manager or their designee to determine the amount of CEHs that can be awarded to attendees.
- For every one hour of continuing education requested, one clock hour (60 minutes) of time spent in training is required. We do not count time spent for registration, welcomes, breaks, lunch or exam time toward the CEH awarded. In general, conference calls, discussions, and meetings and do not count for continuing education or CEHs, unless there is a specific training component reviewed and approved in advance.
- Examples of subject areas that are acceptable include, but are not limited, to Sewage, Water, Super Act, Food Safety and Sanitation, Group Care, Tanning, Mobile Home & RV Parks, Migrant Labor, Biomedical Waste, Body Art, Tattooing, Sanitary Nuisances, Certification, Storage Tanks, GIS, GPS, Sanitary Nuisances, Beach Water Sampling, Radon and Indoor Air Toxins, and more. In addition, epidemiology training as it relates to environmental health include, but are not limited to, communicable disease control and investigations, Lead (Pb) investigations, food borne illnesses, water borne illnesses, enteric diseases, aquatic toxins, rabies, arbovirus, rodents, ticks, and bats and other vectors or vermin.
- Staff providing the education/presentation cannot receive CEH’s for the time they are presenting the training.
- The group, sponsor, or course provider of the continuing education or training event is responsible for providing or issuing a certificate of attendance with the total approved CEHs received or some form of written statement to the attendee that the attendee can maintain for their CEH records as proof of receipt of the CEHs. The Certification Program will not issue certificates to attendees for CEH’s for approved agendas.
- Special note: Certain annual mandatory trainings required for DOH employees, such as Violence in the Workplace, Equal Opportunity Awareness, and DOH Code of Ethics are not approved for CEH’s.