skip to content

It's a New Day in Public Health.

The Florida Department of Health works to protect, promote & improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county, & community efforts.

skip to content

Certified Environmental Health Professional

Contact the Florida Department of Health

Stop! If you are looking for information on the licensure of medical professionals (doctors, nurses, etc.) please look under Licensure, medical professionals or call (850) 488-0595.

*Note: Materials are in the Portable Document Format (PDF). You may need to download the free Adobe Acrobat Reader to view the files.  All pdfs open in a new window and are <1mb unless otherwise indicated.

CONTACT HOURS for RENEWAL:  Are you looking for contact hours in Environmental Health to renew your credential? Are you ready to renew and want to make sure your contact hours are approved for the courses you attended or plan to attend/complete? If so, please review the listing of continuing education courses for the 2015-2017 cycle- CEHP Training 2015-2017 pdf

The objective of this program is to assure that department of health staff that are assigned the responsibility to perform environmental health evaluations for food facilities and onsite sewage disposal systems are knowledgeable in their specific areas of practice and will conduct themselves in a professional and ethical manner. 

In Florida, anyone working in the primary program areas of either

Food Protection Program or Onsite Sewage Treatment and Disposal Systems (OSTDS) Program must be a Certified Environmental Health Professional (CEHP), per Chapter 381.0101 of the Florida Statutes (F.S).  List of active Certified Environmental Health Professionals (CEHP).

 If you would like to become a CEHP here is how you can apply.  First complete an initial application form DH Form 4100 pdf.  NOTE: If you already have a certification as a Registered Sanitarian (RS) or Registered Environmental Health Specialist (REHS) through the National Environmental Health Association (NEHA ) or the Florida Environmental Health Association (FEHA), you can apply certification through reciprocity.  Simply provide a copy of your RS or REHS credential with your application.  In addition, there are a couple additional exemptions listed in 381.0101(5), FS.  If you do not have an RS, REHS, or are not listed in the exemption language of the statute, then you must apply for certification through exam. 

 To qualify to sit for the exam, an applicant must complete the application, have graduated with a bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or university with major course work in environmental science, a physical science, or a biological science.  Major course work must have at least 30 semester hours or 40 quarter hours of coursework in science.  A review of the applicants “Official Transcripts” will determine if these hours of course work are met.  Transcripts are due at the time of application.  For more information on educational qualifications, please go to rule 64E-18.003 Florida Administrative Code (FAC). 

 Completed application must be submitted to the Department with the applicable fees.  The fee for the application and exam for one primary program area is $25 and the fee for the certification in the primary program is $25.  Both fees are due at the time of initial application.  However, the certification fee is prorated, when submitted during the second 12 months of the two year cycle.  (sample two year cycle: October 1, 2015 through September 30, 2017)  Please contact the Department prior to mailing your application, to determine what point you are in of the two year cycle.  In addition, those seeking to take the exam for both primary program areas (OSTDS and Food) shall submit an additional $10, for the second certification exam area and the applicable certificate fee.  Applications shall be submitted and must be received at least 60 days before the anticipated test date.

What to Submit:

  1. Completed application form DH 4100 pdf
  2. Copy of Official College/University Transcripts (sealed/unopened)
    1. We also accept secure electronic transcripts directly from the transcript company or college
    2. Transcripts must be from a United States (U.S.). Accredited Institution (link to Accredited Postsecondary Institutions)
    3. If the applicant graduated from a non-accredited university outside of the United States (U.S), an original unopened evaluation from a third party evaluation service, such as but not limited to, Josef Silney & Associates or World Education Services, must be submitted in lieu of the transcripts. The evaluation shall indicate if the bachelor’s degree is the equivalent of a bachelor’s degree earned at an accredited institution of higher education in the U.S. and list the courses, including the number of credit hours for each
  3. Total Applicable Fees (Only Check, Money Order, or Journal Transfers Accepted)
    1. Prior to 10-1-2016
      1. $50 for initial certification in one program
      2. $60 for initial certification in both programs
    2. After 9-30-2016 and exam taken before 10-1-2017
      1. $37.50 for initial certification in one program
      2. $47.50 for initial certification in both programs
  4. Mail completed packet, with the appropriate fees, and have official transcripts mailed to the address below:

    Department of Health,Facility Programs Section
    4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin A08
    Tallahassee, Florida 32399-1710
    Attention: Environmental Health Professional Certification.

Prerequisite Training Prior To Exam:

Prior to sitting for the exam, an applicant must complete pre-certification course work for each of the primary program areas the applicant wishes to be certified. 

The Food Protection Program pre-certification course work is offered through Office of Regulatory Affairs’ Virtual University (ORAU).  These ORAU courses are only free to current government employees, so there is a fee if you are not registered with an active government e-mail address that ORAU verifies.  To view the list of courses and instructions on how to register with ORAU, please review the ORAU Instruction Document pdf.  Once we have received proof of your completion of the ORAU courses and your application is approved, you can sit for the Food Program Certification exam.

The pre-certification course work and exams in Onsite Sewage Treatment and Disposal Systems (OSTDS) are provided through a week long Accelerated Certification Training (ACT) course provided at the Polk County Training site for the Florida Onsite Wastewater Association, Inc. (FOWA).  If you are not a state Department of Health (DOH) employee, there may be out of pocket charges for individuals attending this ACT course.  To view upcoming dates go to Accelerated Certification Schedule for OSTDS pdf

Are You Ready:

To view practice questions and suggested reference materials go to Food Study Materials pdf.

To view practice questions and study materials prior to the course dates for certification in OSTDS go to OSTDS study materials.

Contact Hours/Continuing Educational Hours:

I’m Certified, now what?

Once an individual is certified, they are required to obtain 24 continuing educational hours or contact hours of training, during a two year cycle, for each primary program area for which they are certified.  CEH’s are provided by a variety of trainings related to the environmental health subject area, which are offered by a wide variety of sponsor groups and government entities through training and conference opportunities.  CEH’s can be obtained by participating in person training presentations, by completing online educational courses, and some environmental health journals with specific article quizzes for their members.

 How are contact hours or continuing educational hours (CEH) determined? 

An agenda is submitted to the program office 30 days in advance of the training/education and reviewed by the Certification Program Manager or their designee to determine the amount of CEHs that can be awarded to attendees.  For every one hour of continuing education requested, one clock hour (60 minutes) of time spent in training is required.  We do not count time spent for registration, welcomes, breaks, lunch or exam time toward the CEH awarded.  In general, conference calls, discussions, and meetings and do not count for continuing education or CEHs, unless there is a specific training component reviewed and approved in advance.  Special note: Certain annual mandatory trainings required for DOH employees, such as Violence in the Workplace, Equal Opportunity Awareness, and DOH Code of Ethics are not approved for CEH’s.  Examples of subject areas that are acceptable include, but are not limited, to Sewage, Water, Super Act, Food Safety and Sanitation, Group Care, Tanning, Mobile Home & RV Parks, Migrant Labor, Biomedical Waste, Body Art, Tattooing, Sanitary Nuisances, Certification, Storage Tanks, GIS, GPS, Sanitary Nuisances, Beach Water Sampling, Radon and Indoor Air Toxins, and more.  In addition, epidemiology training as it relates to environmental health include, but are not limited to, communicable disease control and investigations, Lead (Pb) investigations, food borne illnesses, water borne illnesses, enteric diseases, aquatic toxins, rabies, arbovirus, rodents, ticks, and bats and other vectors or vermin.  Staff providing the education/presentation cannot receive CEH’s for the time they are presenting the training.  The group, sponsor, or course provider of the continuing education or training event is responsible for providing or issuing a certificate of attendance with the total approved CEHs received or some form of written statement to the attendee that the attendee can maintain for their CEH records as proof of receipt of the CEHs.  The Certification Program will not issue certificates to attendees for CEH’s for approved agendas.

Certificate Renewal

Certificate Renewal (all links open in new window)

As per the requirements of Chapter 381.0101, Florida Statutes and Chapter 64E-18, Florida Administrative Code, your Environmental Health Professional Certification for Onsite Sewage and/or Food Safety and Sanitation, will expire September 30, 2017.  If you desire to renew your certification, please complete an Application for Renewal of Environmental Health Professional Certification, DOH Form 4101 pdf.  Include all continuing education training received during the past two years.  Use a blank sheet of paper if additional space is necessary.  A minimum of 24 hours per primary program area is required for renewal.  The following is an example of prorating of Contact Hours for First-time CEHP Renewals:

If you were initially certified before October 1, 2015

24 hours are required per program area for renewal

If you were initially certified between October 1, 2015 and March 31, 2016

24 hours are required per program area for renewal

If you were initially certified between April 1, 2016 and September 30, 2017

18 hours are required per program area

If you were initially certified between October 1, 2017 and March 31, 2017

12 hours are required per program area

If you were initially certified between April 1, 2017 and September 30, 2017

 6 hours are required per program area

You may count training received within the semi-annual period in which your certification began. For example if you became certified in February of 2017, you could count any training received within the six-month pro-ration period October 2016 through March 2017 and through to September 30, 2017. Remember, your prerequisite courses can count towards your continuing educational hours for your first renewal.

Return the completed form along with the appropriate renewal fees, $25.00 per programmatic area, to the

Department of Health,
Facility Programs Section,
4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin A08,
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-1710,
Attention: Environmental Health Professional Certification.

Your renewal will be processed and a certificate returned to you as quickly as possible via e-mail.  If you are a county health department employee, please write the name of the county health department under employer (example: Mango County Health Department), please do not just write "State of Florida."   

If you are a Registered Sanitarian (RS), Registered Environmental Health Specialist (REHS), or Register Environmental Health Professional (REHP) with the Florida Environmental Health Association (FEHA) or the National Environmental Health Association (NEHA) complete the application and attach proof of your current registration. If you are an RS, REHS, or an REHP with FEHA or NEHA, you are NOT exempt from the $25 application fee requirement. However, RS, REHS, and REHP is exempt from the CEHP continuing education and CEHP exam requirements.

All renewal applications and payments must be postmarked no later than the close of business on September 30, 2017.