To be eligible for Florida EMT certification, an applicant must:
- Submit a completed application
- Submit proof to the Certification Unit of meeting the required professional education in one of the four following ways:
- Florida Training - Successful completion of EMT course from a Florida Department of Health approved program listed on CE Broker within the previous two years. You must submit a copy of the course completion certificate, if your course was taken more than two years ago it will not be accepted;
- Out of State Certification - An EMT certificate from another US state, territory, or possession, or from a military service may be recognized as a professional education equivalent, provided the certificate is current and in Good Standing (pdf) and proof of completion of EMT course;
- National Registration - An EMT registration from the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians can be recognized as a professional education equivalent, provided the certificate is current and in Good Standing. This type of certification is recognized for individuals who have taken an EMT or paramedic course while serving with the military. You are required to submit a copy of your National Registry certificate;
- FL Paramedic Certification - A Florida certified paramedic may use his/her Paramedic certificate, provided that it is current and in good standing, to satisfy the professional education requirements for certification as an EMT. You must indicate your current paramedic certificate number for us to verify your certification and standing.
- Submit a copy of one of the following to the Certification Unit:
- An American Red Cross CPR for Professional Rescuer card;
- An American Heart Association BLS for the Healthcare Provider;
- A CPR equivalent certification from an organization approved by the Bureau of EMS pursuant to 64E-2.038, Florida Administrative Code.
The copy must be of both sides with a signature.
- Apply to the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technician (NREMT) at www.nremt.org
- a. Graduates of Florida programs will apply for certification
- b. All others will apply for assessment for Florida.
If you need special testing accommodations for the EMT exam please contact the NREMT at (614) 888-4484.
Your scores will be available online
within 7 - 14 days of your test date. No scores are mailed. Your license will be issued within 30 days of the receipt of a passing score.
Florida trained applicants must pass the required examination within two years of the course completion date. Out of state applicants must pass the examination within two years after the date of receipt of the application. If the applicant is unsuccessful in passing the exam during the above mentioned timeframes, the applicant must submit a new application, meet all eligibility requirements, and submit all fees to reestablish eligibility to take the certification examination. You cannot reapply using the online application. If you need to reapply you must download the application
(pdf) from the website.
Criminal History Information
Felony Status - If you have been convicted or pled no contest, regardless of adjudication, to a felony charge, you are required to submit certified documentation of the date, location, facts, disposition of each charge, and, as applicable, documentation of the status of your civil rights after the felony conviction. You must submit a copy of the disposition, sentence, arrest warrant, and judgment of each felony, all probation documents, any documents that are relevant to each felony, and your explanation of the offense(s) and any other arrests. You may submit any current letters of recommendation from your employer, probation officer, or other community leaders that you would like to have considered in this review.