Emergency Medical Technicians and Paramedics
Contact Information FullCustomer Contact CenterOfficeMailing Address
Department Of Health | EMT - Paramedic Certification
4052 Bald Cypress Way
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6330
Department of Health
P.O. Box 6330
Tallahassee, FL 32314-6330
Medical Quality Assurance Services
For Health care Professionals
The provision of emergency medical services saves lives and reduces disabilities associated with illness and injury. The profession of Paramedics and Emergency Medical Technicians was legislatively established to ensure that every Paramedic and Emergency Medical Technician practicing in this state meets minimum requirements for safe practice. The Department of Health, Division of Medical Quality Assurance is responsible for certifying Paramedics and Emergency Medical Technicians to ensure competency and safety to practice.
Customer Satisfaction Survey
How is our customer service? Tell us how we are doing.
Please complete our customer satisfaction survey.
Information for Florida-trained Paramedics Regarding Examination Options Effective August 1, 2018
Florida-Trained Paramedic Applicants:
Florida Examination: Effective August 1, 2018, applicants applying for the first time desiring to be certified as a Paramedic will be required to sit for the National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians [NREMT] certification examinaton.
Florida trained applicants for paramedic certification must pass the state’s approved examination within two years of completion of your training program.
NREMT Examination: You may elect to take the NREMT examination. If you choose this option, you do not need to apply to the Department of Health for an Authorization to Test. You may schedule your examination directly with the NREMT.
Please note that you will still need to submit an application for certification along with your application fee before you may receive your state certification. If you do not pass the NREMT examination, you are required to apply to the Department to retake the examination.
Only applicants that have applied for certification prior to August 1, 2018 will be allowed to sit for the Florida certification examination administered by Prometric.
- January 1, 2015 Authorizations to Test (ATT)
- HB 941: Department of Health Section 9 - EMT/Paramedic Certification
- Florida’s Healthy Promise Campaign
- Information on Ebola Virus Disease Documents
Effective January 1, 2015, Authorizations to Test (ATT) for National EMS Certification will be valid for up to 90 days from the date of issuance, provided all other requirements for National EMS Certification are met.
What this means:
An "Authorization to Test," (ATT) declares a candidate eligible to take an NREMT exam within 90 days of issuance. The following must occur before an ATT is generated:
- The candidate must create and complete an application
- The program director (and/or State Director if applicable) must sign off on the application indicating completion of course
- The candidate must pay for the exam
With the implementation of this new policy, candidates who do not complete their cognitive examination prior to the expiration date will be required to complete a new application, including payment of the application fee. No refunds will be issued for an expired ATT.
During the 2016 Legislative Session, House Bill 941 passed and became law on April 14, 2016 as Chapter 2016-230, Laws of Florida. On July 1, 2016, emergency medical technician (EMT) and paramedic certificates that are not renewed at the end of the two-year active period will automatically revert to an inactive status for no longer than four years (two licensure cycles). The certificate may be reactivated and renewed during this time if the certificate holder meets all other qualifications for renewal, including continuing education requirements, and pays a $25 late fee. Additionally, the certificate holder must pass the certification examination in order to reactivate the license after two years of remaining in inactive status.
Effective July 1, 2016, there will be major changes with regard to applicants who received their training outside of the state of Florida or in the military. Beginning, July 1, 2016, Emergency Medical Technicians and Paramedics that hold a current NREMT certification will no longer be required to apply to the Department of Health to take the Florida examination. The applicant will only need to present evidence of current NREMT certification to apply for certification in Florida.
Effective July 1, 2016, an applicant that has been working in the military as an EMT or Paramedic and who holds a current NREMT certification is eligible to apply for a certification under the VALOR program. In order to qualify, the applicant must be honorably discharged within six months of the application or have been honorably discharged within six months of the application. The application and additional information is available on this website by clicking on the Armed Forces Licensing “VALOR” icon.
Healthy Promise Florida is a campaign sponsored by the Florida Department of Health to encourage residents in Florida to make more informed choices about healthy eating and active living this year. Learn more about the Healthy Promise Campaign.
The state of Florida is prepared to identify and treat patients who may have Ebola Virus Disease (EVD). In the event that a patient with EVD is diagnosed in Florida, the Florida Department of Health will collaborate with health care partners to ensure appropriate patient care, protocols for isolation, infection control and the assessment of risk to relevant individuals.
For further information on the Ebola Virus Disease visit the Department of Health’s online newsroom or website.