It's a New Day in Public Health.
The Florida Department of Health works to protect, promote, and improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county, and community efforts.
Putative Father Registry
Florida Dept. of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics
How to Register With, Update or Search the Florida Putative Father Registry
All of the applications can be completed online using your computer. After completing your application please print, sign, and mail it to the address on the form. (forms are in PDF format. You will need Adobe Reader to open these.) Get Adobe Reader
Filing a Claim of Paternity
Section 63.054, Florida Statutes, provides for the establishment of a Putative Father Registry in the Bureau of Vital Statistics.
The purpose of the registry is to permit a man alleging to be the unmarried biological father of a child to preserve his right to notice and consent in the event of an adoption.
Florida law requires a $9.00 non-refundable fee for filing and indexing the claim in the Putative Father Registry.
- Florida Putative Father Registry - Claim of Paternity forms
A Claim of Paternity may be filed at any time prior to the child’s birth BUT may not be filed after the date a petition for termination of parental rights is filed.
A $9.00 filing and indexing fee is required and must be submitted with the Florida Putative Father Registry – Claim of Paternity.
The child's birth record is not impacted by such a claim and if the father wishes to be listed on the birth record as father, he must have the mother's agreement or seek an order from a court of competent jurisdiction. Sections 382.013 and 382.016, Florida Statutes, provide for voluntary paternity acknowledgment by both parents. See Acknowledgment of Paternity form DH 432
- Updating information in the Registry or Filing a Revocation
A Revocation of Claim of Paternity may be made at any time prior to the child’s birth by submitting an update form.
This form is also used for updating previously provided information in the claim of paternity or naming a representative or agent. There is no fee required for updating a previously filed claim of paternity.
- Searching the Registry
In each termination of parental rights or adoption proceeding filed under Chapter 63, Florida Statutes, a search of the Florida Putative Father Registry shall be requested by the petitioner using the Florida Putative Father Registry – Application for Search form.
Florida law requires a $9.00 non-refundable fee for processing.
ELIGIBILITY: All information contained in the Florida Putative Father Registry is confidential and exempt from public disclosure.
Information from the registry shall only be disclosed to:
- An adoption entity in connection with the planned adoption of a child.
- The registrant unmarried biological father, upon receipt of his notarized request.
- The court, upon issuance of a court order concerning a petitioner acting pro se in an action under Chapter 63, Florida Statutes.
- Birth mother, upon receipt of a notarized request for a copy of any registry entry in which she is identified as the birth mother.