skip to content

It's a New Day in Public Health.

The Florida Department of Health works to protect, promote & improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county, & community efforts.

skip to content

911 Public Safety Telecommunicator Program

Contact the Florida Department of Health


The PST Program’s data is being moved to an automated system.  The application process has changed. The new applications may be used immediately; they will be required, effective March 7, 2016.

**The process for those testing under the LEO exemption has NOT changed.  These individuals are not applying for certification so these changes are not applicable**

The new application process is outlined below.  This change is taking place very quickly and we anticipate many bumps along the way.  If you have questions or concerns about this new process, please EMAIL US HERE.


The initial exam application and the initial certification application (form DH 5066) have been combined.  Individuals interested in applying to take the exam, must submit a complete application.  A complete application is considered to be form DH 5066, Initial Certification Application, with all required sections filled in, all necessary supporting documentation, and the initial certification fee of $50.  Applications cannot be processed until they are considered to be complete.  The step-by-step process is as follows:

Initial Certification and Initial Exam Attempt

  1. Meet the educational requirement in one of three ways:
    1. Complete a Department approved PST training program.
    2. Provide proof of employment as a PST prior to April 1, 2012 (documented on form DH 5066).
    3. Provide proof of employment as a state-certified firefighter prior to April 1, 2012 (documented on form DH 5066).
  2. Submit a complete Initial Certification Application. (with the $50 certification fee).
  3. On receipt of the approval to test letter, register for the PST exam through the Prometric website.  Exam fees are paid directly to Prometric at the time of registration.
  4. Once a passing score is received, a certification will be issued and mailed to the address supplied on form DH 5066, Initial Certification Application.

Re-Exam Attempts

If a passing score is not achieved on the first exam attempt, submit a completed re-exam application.  There is no fee required to be submitted with this application. An approval to test letter will be sent and the applicant may again register for the exam through Prometric. This will be the process for each re-exam attempt. Once a passing score is received, a certification will be issued and mailed to the address supplied on form DH 5066, Initial Certification Application.


All applications must be mailed to the Department at the address listed on the application. 

Form DH 5066, Initial Certification Application

Re-Exam Application

Sworn State-Certified Law Enforcement Officers (LEO)

Exam Application for LEO exemption

The requirement for certification as a 911 PST is waived for a person employed as a sworn state-certified law enforcement officer, provided the officer:

     a. Is selected by his or her chief executive to perform as a 911 PST;

     b. Performs as a 911 PST on an occasional or limited basis; AND

     c. Passes the Department's PST examination

The examination fee is waived for sworn state-certified law enforcement officers who wish to take the examination under this exemption.  Sworn state-certified law enforcement officers who receive a failing score on the examination must complete the 40 hour training program prior to the re-exam attempt.  This training must be completed prior to each re-exam attempt. 

Sworn state-certified law enforcement officers that wish to be employed as a PST must obtain PST certification prior to performing as such.  Sworn state-certified LEO may obtain PST certification by following the initial certification requirements as outlined above.

Renewal of Certification

**Form DH 5068, Renewal/Change of Status Application, will be changing prior to the next renewal period which will begin August, 2016**

To be eligible for renewal certification, the certificate holder must complete 20 hours of renewal training and submit Form DH 5068, Renewal/Change of Status Application. The 20 hours of renewal training must be based on the Department of Education's Public Safety Telecommunicator Curriculum Framework.

All PST certifications expire February 1st of every odd year. Certificate holders must complete 20 hours of renewal training prior to applying for renewal. Certifications that are not renewed by the expiration date automatically expire and revert to involuntary inactive status for a period that may not exceed 180 days. Such certificates may be renewed with-in the 180-day period, provided the certificate holder meets the renewal requirements (20 hours of renewal training, application and fee) and pays a $50 late fee. Certificate holders that do not renew by the end of the 180-day period must complete initial certification requirements to again obtain certification.

Training Programs

Training programs must follow the Department of Education's Public Safety Telecommunication Curriculum Framework. , and consist of not less than 232 hours. Agencies/schools wishing to become a Department approved training program shall submit Form DH 5067, 911 Public Safety Telecommunicator Training Program Application with supporting attachments. The training program application should be carefully reviewed.  Information on what is required to be included with the application, definition of specific terms, and time-frames are all included on the application.


  • Exam Fee - $75
  • Initial Certification Application Fee - $50
  • Renewal Certification Application Fee - $50
  • Late Renewal/Reactivation Fee - $50 (in addition to the renewal fee)
  • Reactivation Fee (from voluntary inactive status) - $50
  • Replacement Card Fee - $25
  • Name Change Fee - $25
  • Public Safety Telecommunication Training Program Application - $50

Frequently Asked Questions

Helpful Links

Contact Us

Under Florida Law, e-mail addresses are public records. If you do not want your e-mail address released in response to a public records request, do not send electronic mail to this entity. Instead, contact this office by phone or in writing.

If you need assistance or have questions regarding 911 Public Safety Telecommunications, please contact the 911 Public Safety Telecommunicator Program staff by email, or at: (850) 245-4440.

To view, print or edit some of the files in this section may require Adobe Acrobat. Download a free version of Adobe Acrobat Reader.