Skip Global navigation and goto content

It's a New Day in Public Health.

The Florida Department of Health works to protect, promote & improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county & community efforts.

Skip MegaMenu and goto content
 

Microblading/Permanent Cosmetics

Contact the Tattooing Program

*Note:  This page contains materials in the Portable Document Format (PDF). The free Adobe Reader may be required to view these files.

Image of Microblading on a model.

Microblading/Permanent Cosmetics is considered as a form of tattooing in the state of Florida.   The practice of tattooing in Florida requires licensure as a tattoo artist and must occur in a licensed tattoo establishment. 

A Tattoo Artist License requires submission of the following to the local County Health Department having jurisdiction of the tattooing program where you live:

  • Completed Application for Tattoo Artist License
    • The Application must be completed with the name of the licensed tattoo establishment where the tattoo artist will perform tattooing or intends to perform tattooing.
    • $60 state fee - Additional local county fees may apply.  Contact the County Health Department where you live.
  • Copy of government-issued photo ID proving 18 years of age or older.
  • Certificate of Completion of a Department approved  bloodborne pathogens and communicable diseases course. (click link to access approved providers of the course;minimum of 70% score required) 

An Expired Tattoo Artist License requires submission of the following to the local County Health Department having jurisdiction of the tattooing program where you live:

  • Completed Application for Tattoo Artist License
    • $85 ($60 state fee and $25 reactivation fee) - Additional local county fees may apply.  Contact the local county health department where you live.
Photo of model with permanent makeup

A Tattoo Establishment License requires submission of the following items to the local County Health Department having jurisdiction of the tattooing program where your business is located:

The practice of Microblading/Permanent Cosmetics also requires a Biomedical Waste Generator’s Permit as biomedical waste is generated during the procedure (needles, blood contaminated ink and water cups, etc.)

  • $85 state fee - The application and $85 fee should be submitted in the same manner as that for a tattoo establishment license.
  • Contact city/county for potential need for business tax receipt.

All tattoo establishments must pass inspection in compliance with sections 381.00771-381.00791, Florida Statutes  "The Practice of Tattooing" and Chapter 64E-28, Florida Administrative Code

Guest Tattoo Artist Registration

Photo of Tattoo Convention

A Guest Tattoo Artist Registration is required for any tattoo artist who plans to tattoo in Florida and who also holds an active tattoo artist license, registration, or certification issued by a jurisdiction outside Florida. In addition, the tattoo artist is required to have completed a Bloodborne Pathogens and Communicable Diseases training that is comparable or exeeding those requirements specified in Rule 64E-28.006, Florida Administrative Code.  Guest registration is valid up to 14 consecutive days in Florida. 

A Guest Tattoo Artist Registration requires the following:

  • Completed Application for Guest Tattoo Artist Registration. (170kb PDF) ($35).
    • The Application must be completed with the name of the licensed tattoo establishment where the tattoo artist will perform tattooing or intends to perform tattooing.
  • Copy of government-issued photo ID proving 18 years of age or older.
  • Proof of active license, registration, or certification outside of Florida
  • A copy of the certificate of training proving completion of approved 3-hour Bloodborne Pathogens and Communicable Diseases Courseor proof that the requirement has been met for issuance of a license, registration, or certification in a jurisdiction outside of the state.

**Review the Guest Tattoo Artist Registration Guide to ensure Florida will recognize your state’s tattoo artist license.**  Submission of the wrong application will delay your licensure. 

If your state does not require a tattoo artist license registration or certification, you must apply for a Florida Tattoo Artist License. (167kb PDF)

**Tattoo Frequently Asked Questions**