skip to content

It's a New Day in Public Health.

The Florida Department of Health works to protect, promote & improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county, & community efforts.

skip to content
 

Licensing

Council of Licensed Midwifery

Customer Contact Center Council Office Mailing Address (applications)
  •  

    Council of Licensed Midwifery

    PO Box 6330 

    Tallahassee, FL 32314


Mailing Address (all other documents)
  •  

    Council of Licensed Midwifery

    4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin C-06 

    Tallahassee, FL 32399-3255


General Requirements 

  • Must be 21 years of age at the time of application
  • Must have a valid, unrestricted certificate or license to practice midwifery
  • Must demonstrate college level computation and communication competency by:
    • passing the College Level Academic Scholastic Test (CLAST) or
    • passing the College Level Equivalent Proficiency (CLEP) test in communication and computation
    • having taken three college level credits each of Math and English
  • Must pass the North American Registry of Midwives (NARM) written examination

    Agency approval must be provided to register for the NARM examination. Council staff will submit appropriate documentation to the NARM upon receipt of your application.

  • Must submit a complete application and fees

    Additional Documentation will be required based on your method of application as described below.

Licensure by Examination 

Licensure by examination is the appropriate method for applicants who are not licensed in another state or country, or for applicants who are licensed in another state or country whose licensing requirements are significantly dissimilar to licensing requirements in Florida.

  • Requirements

An applicant for licensure by examination:

  • Must complete a Florida Council-approved midwifery program
  • Must submit appropriate documentation, including:

    Education Documents

    • Proof of high school graduation
    • Proof of college level computation and communication competency
    • An official transcript from a Florida Council-approved midwifery program (provided by the midwifery program – Council staff will not accept transcripts submitted directly by the applicant)

    Examination Documents

    • Proof of a passing score on the NARM written examination (provided by the NARM – Council staff will not accept score reports submitted directly by the applicant)

    Practice and Insurance

    • General Emergency Care Plan
    • Proof of Liability insurance in the amount of $100,000 per claim / $300,000 minimum annual aggregate

    Other documentation as required by Council staff, which may include:

    • Criminal history documentation
    • Disciplinary history documentation

Licensure by Endorsement 

Licensure by endorsement is the appropriate method for applicants who are licensed in another state or country whose requirements are similar to or more stringent than licensing requirements in Florida.

  • Requirements - Licensed out of State

An applicant for licensure by endorsement who is licensed in another state:

  • Must have completed a midwifery program that was approved for licensure or certification in the issuing state
  • Must submit appropriate documentation, including:

    Education Documents

    • Proof of college level computation and communication competency
    • Certificate from a midwifery program offered in another state which bears the seal of the institution or is otherwise authenticated per Chapter 467, Florida Statutes, and Rule 64B7-24, Florida Administrative Code
    • Official transcript from the midwifery program which document classroom instruction and clinical training (provided by the midwifery program – Council staff will not accept transcripts submitted directly by the applicant)
    • Out-of-State Midwife Applicant Evaluation Tool (Form DH-MQA 1112)
    • Evidence of successful completion of the approved four-month prelicensure course

    Examination Documentation

    • Proof of a passing score on the NARM written examination (provided by the NARM – Council staff will not accept score reports submitted directly by the applicant)

    Licensing Documentation

    • License / certificate verification which demonstrates the applicant holds a valid, unrestricted license or certificate to practice midwifery
    • A copy of the issuing state laws and rules which govern the applicant's certificate or license

    Practice and Insurance

    • General Emergency Care Plan
    • Proof of Liability insurance in the amount of $100,000 per claim / $300,000 minimum annual aggregate

    Other documentation as required byCouncil staff, which may include:

    • Criminal history documentation
    • Disciplinary history documentation
  • Requirements - Licensed in a foreign country

An applicant for licensure by endorsement who is licensed in a foreign country:

  • Must have completed a midwifery program that was approved for licensure or certification in the issuing country
  • Must be eligible to practice medicine or midwifery in a foreign country
  • Must submit appropriate documentation, including:

    Education Documents

    • Proof of college level computation and communication competency
    • Certificate from a midwifery program offered in another country which bears the seal of the institution or is otherwise authenticated per Chapter 467, Florida Statutes, and Rule 64B7-24, Florida Administrative Code (this document must be translated and certified by a credentialing service)
    • Official transcript from the midwifery program which document classroom instruction and clinical training (this document must be translated and certified by a credentialing service)
    • Foreign Midwife Applicant Evaluation Tool (Form DH-MQA 1111)
    • Evidence of successful completion of the approved four-month prelicensure course

    Examination Documentation

    • Proof of a passing score on the NARM written examination (provided by the NARM – Council staff will not accept score reports submitted directly by the applicant)

    Licensing Documentation

    • Document which renders the foreign trained applicant eligible to practice medicine or midwifery in the country in which the document was issued (this document must be translated and certified by a credentialing service)

    Practice and Insurance

    • General Emergency Care Plan
    • Proof of Liability insurance in the amount of $100,000 per claim / $300,000 minimum annual aggregate

    Other documentation as required by Council staff, which may include:

    • Criminal history documentation
    • Disciplinary history documentation

Temporary Licensure in an Area of Critical Need 

Temporary licensure in an area of critical need allows a midwife who is pursuing licensure by endorsement to work under the supervision of a physician in a specific area of critical need.

An application for licensure by endorsement must be received in addition to the application for temporary licensure.

  • Fee Schedule and Policies
Licensure by Examination
Application Fee (non-refundable) $200.00
Initial Licensure Fee $500.00
Unlicensed Activity Fee $5.00
TOTAL FEES: $705.00

Licensure by Endorsement
Application Fee (non-refundable) $200.00
Endorsement Fee $250.00
Licensure Fee $500.00
Unlicensed Activity Fee $5.00
TOTAL FEES: $955.00

4 Month Pre-licensure Evaluation
(required for endorsement applicants) $100.00

Temporary Certificate in an Area of Critical Need
Application Fee (non-refundable) $200.00
Temporary Certificate Fee $50.00
Unlicensed Activity Fee $5.00
TOTAL FEES: $255.00

Fees must be paid prior to the processing of your application for licensure. Applications received without fees may be returned without processing. Fees should be included with your application, and paid by Cashier’s Check or Money order, payable to Department of Health.

All applications expire one year from the date the application is received by the Department. A refund of fees may be requested for the refundable portion within three years of expiration or upon withdrawal of the application.