skip to sub-navigation skip to content

It's a New Day in Public Health.

The Florida Department of Health works to protect, promote & improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county, & community efforts.

skip to sub-navigation skip to content
 

Application and License Requirements

Apply Online for Licensure: Eliminate mailing time and expedite your application! Apply online, using your user id and password, and receive a response within 10-13 business days!
The Dietetic and Nutrition Practice Council is responsible for licensing and regulating dietitian/nutritionists and nutrition counselors in Florida. Applicants seeking to be licensed as a dietitian/nutritionist may apply by examination or endorsement.

Good News for Applicants
No more waiting until the office is open, until the phone lines are clear, being put on hold or waiting until you get home. You can now stay up to date with the status of your application 24/7 from any location through the World Wide Web via online Application Status Check. This web based check allows you to see whether your application has been processed, if additional information or documentation is needed to process your application and when your application is complete.

Within two weeks of submitting your application, you should have an assigned username and password.It should be provided to you in your initial letter from this office. This will allow you to follow the progress of your application through the application status check link at our website. Just have your username and password ready and follow the instructions to see the current status of your application by clicking on the designated links.

If you do not yet have your username and password, you may still check the status by scrolling further down the page and answering the required security questions. This will allow you to proceed with the status check of your application, providing sufficient time has passed for it to be received and entered into the department’s database.

To perform this application check.
ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS
  • Possession of at least a bachelor’s degree with a major course of study in human nutrition, food and nutrition, dietetics, or food management as outlined in sections 468.509, F.S., and 64B8-42.002, F.A.C.
  • Successful completion of 900 hours of pre-professional planned and continuous supervised practice in dietetics or nutrition, as described in subsection 64B8-42.002(3), F.A.C.
  • Successful passage of the dietitian exam offered by the Commission on Dietetic Registration.
  • Section 456.013(7), Florida Statutes, mandates the completion of a 2-hour course relating to prevention of medical errors as part of the licensure and renewal process. Courses approved by any Board within the Division of Medical Quality Assurance of the Department of Health pursuant to Section 456.013(7), F.S., are recommended by the Council and approved by the Board. For additional information see 64B8-42.005, F.A.C. You may search for continuing education courses using the Department of Health’s continuing education tracking database. (www.CEBroker.com)

APPLICATION METHODS AND FEES

EXAMINATION:

This method is for the individual that has not passed the dietetics and nutrition examination developed by the Commission on Dietetics Registration.

ENDORSEMENT OF STATUS AS A REGISTERED DIETITIAN:

This method is for the applicant who is a registered dietitian with the Commission on Dietetic Registration.

ENDORSEMENT OF LICENSURE IN ANOTHER STATE, DISTRICT, OR TERRITORY OF THE UNITED STATES:

Applicants licensed in another state are not required to use this method. However, it is an option that may be used by someone who holds an active, valid license as a dietitian/nutritionist in another state, district, or territory of the United States. The requirements for licensure, when the license was obtained, must be substantially equivalent to or more stringent than those currently required in Florida. Personal references, experience, or other qualifications are not considered as part of this application method. The Council makes its determination of eligibility for licensure by endorsement based solely on law to law comparison. Please enter the issuing state, district, or territory of United States for the license you wish to be endorsed.

TEMPORARY PERMITS:

Temporary permits allow an applicant to work under the supervision of a licensed dietitian/nutritionist for up to one year until the Council can complete review of their application and/or successful completion of the exam. Temporary permits are available to any applicant who has completed an application and the Executive Director has preliminarily determined that he or she appears to be eligible for licensure based on the documentation presented. Refer to rule 64B8-42.003, F.A.C., for more information.

Temporary permits are issued only one time for a limited time. The permits usually are not advantageous for applicants applying for licensure by endorsement of status as a registered dietitian, as this application method is relatively speedy. The temporary permit form and required fees must be submitted as part of a completed application to be considered. The form must contain all requested information,which includes original signatures.

FEES

Application by Examination Fees

Application Fee $100.00 (non-refundable)
Initial License Fee $175.00
Unlicensed Activity Fee $5.00
Total Fee (without a temporary permit): $280.00
Temporary Permit Fee $50.00
Total Fee (with a temporary permit): $330.00
   

Exam Fees and Information

The Examination Fee of $125.00 must be paid directly to the Commission on Dietetics Registration testing agency, ACT Inc.

Application by Endorsement Fees

Endorsement Fee $75.00
Application Fee $100.00
Initial License Fee $175.00
Unlicensed Activity Fee $5.00
Total Fee (without a temporary permit): $355.00
Temporary Permit Fee $50.00
Total Fee (with a temporary permit): $405.00

Applicants and licensees are responsible for the fees outlined in applicable board or department rule at the time an application is received. Checks, certified checks, or money orders payable should be made payable to the Department of Health.

Application fees are non-refundable.  If you discontinue your pursuit of Florida licensure, and it has not been more than three years since the Department of Health received them, you may request a refund of the unused fees.

THE REGISTRATION EXAM FOR DIETITIANS

The examination used for licensure in Florida is the Registration Examination for Dietitians administered by the Commission on Dietetic Registration. Once the Dietetics and Nutrition Practice Council has approved your application for examination, the Commission on Dietetic Registration (CDR) will be notified by office staff. CDR will contact the applicant with available exam dates and study materials. You are responsible for scheduling your examination. You pay exam fees to the CDR CBT testing vendor. To ensure that we receive your scores timely, you should request that your scores be sent to the Florida Dietetic and Nutrition Practice Council. The Council office should receive exam scores within three weeks of the exam date. Once the department receives your passing score from CDR, you should be issued a license number within two weeks. Please allow sufficient time for this office to receive and process your exam score. For detailed information on test administration, study tips and practice exams, go to www.cdrnet.org.

SPECIAL TESTING ACCOMMODATIONS

Applicants requiring special testing accommodations must apply directly to the Commission on Dietetic Registration (CDR) in accordance with its policies and procedures. You may contact the CDR at www.cdrnet.org or by phone at (312) 899-0040 Ext. 5500, toll free: 1-800-877-1600.